This Is A Vacation?

“This Is A Vacation?”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

I have spent the last three days working in the garden. Vacation time has started, and I can’t think of a better way to relax than being out in the garden getting projects completed that have been neglected for months. Don’t get me wrong, it is exhausting. While the weather has been hot, it has not been so hot that you risk heat stroke. I have been working from about 7 in the morning till about noon. Then, I have lunch and take a break until about 3 or 4 o’clock. No point working in the heat of the day. In the late afternoon, I have been working until about 5 o’clock. Then it is inside for a cold shower followed by a relaxing cocktail. If I could keep this up for about two weeks, I think all my long neglected garden areas would be finished. Of course, the question is will the weather cooperate. When the temperatures get in the 90’s, I just can’t work as long even when I stay in the shade.

Working to get the garden in shape is only worth it when you can relax and enjoy what you have worked on. After dinner, when the temperatures have cooled a little, is the perfect opportunity to walk around and take the time to appreciate nature. New blooms are always a high point. While the peak of spring blooms are over, the summer ones are just starting. New flowers that have just started blooming are the pink crinums.

 

 

The crinums really took a beating this winter. I had never seen them lose all their leaves before. Even though they are usually evergreen here, they have bounced back from the winter damage with a flush of growth, and it seems even more flowers than ever.

Seeing these lovely flowers makes the sore muscles a little less sore. So far, I think this vacation seems to be turning out fine.

4 Comments

  1. garden mary said,

    June 3, 2010 at 5:19 am

    When you are a gardener, this is a great vacation.

    • Jan said,

      June 3, 2010 at 5:58 pm

      It certainly seems that way. Every time I get some time off, I am in the garden.

  2. June 3, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    I was recently saying that ‘Memorial Day’ should be called ‘Labor Day’ as it’s a weekend for so much hard work! Your lovely flowers make it all worthwhile…

    • Jan said,

      June 3, 2010 at 5:54 pm

      I think you are right, this was a weekend that everyone around here seemed to be working hard in their yards esp.


Leave a Reply

