Red Duo

“Red Duo”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Downpours the last two days have put a stop to my working in the garden. What a shame, just as I was getting a rhythm going with my routine. Well, you know what they say, rain is God’s way of letting a gardener get some housework done.

Rain or not, flowers are still blooming, and two more daylilies that I just put in last year have started blooming. Mac the Knife did bloom last year after I purchased it. (It is a rebloomer.)

 

 

Next is Billye Red which was purchased with only a photo to recommend it, but it certainly is a beauty.

 

 

This red duo joins Scarlet Orbit which started blooming earlier this week. Here’s another photo of that one.

 

 

All three of these daylilies are in close proximity to one another, and when they are all blooming at the same time, they look just like I envisioned they would when they were planted last summer.

8 Comments

  1. garden mary said,

    June 5, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    Lovely red daylilies. I always think of daylilies in the pink or yellow color ranges.

    • Jan said,

      June 6, 2010 at 4:57 am

      I have just started with the red daylilies after first growing yellow and then moving into the pinks. I have an orange which I like, too, which surprises me since I usually do not like orange flowers. I guess that color is growing on me.

  2. debsgarden said,

    June 5, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    Your red daylilies are beautiful!

    I laughed about the housework. How true! And it’s a good thing we have hot, humid summers here, for that is when I get painting and other interior projects done. I like to work inside in air conditioned comfort, while gardening outside in the heat is minimized.

    • Jan said,

      June 6, 2010 at 4:54 am

      I, too, try to do outside work when it is cool and inside work when it is hot, Deb. Unfortunately, life and work got in the way of my gardening in the late winter and early spring this year, so I will have to be outside in the heat. When it gets real hot and I am working in one place, I will drag out a fan on a long extension cord. This does help, but of course I am afraid I look ridiculous, but I don’t care since this lets me work in the heat longer.

  3. donna said,

    June 6, 2010 at 5:10 am

    The mental picture of you working outside with a fan connected to a very long extension cord, made me smile.

    Your red daylilies are so pretty and isn’t it nice when a garden plan turns out exactly as you envisioned?

    donna

    • Jan said,

      June 6, 2010 at 8:25 am

      Taking a fan out must qualify me as a real gardening nut. LOL.

      And, it is soooo nice when the plantings you envision turn out well.

  4. June 6, 2010 at 9:36 am

    We’ve had so much rain this spring that my native (desert) perennials are rotting in the mud. 😦 Your photos are quite stunning. Love that loud color!

    • Jan said,

      June 6, 2010 at 2:52 pm

      Kate, I know how frustrating having too much rain can be. I, too, have had plants just rot away because of all the water.


Leave a Reply

