Late, Later, Latest

“Late, Later, Latest”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Late, later, latest.

Plants have really been late to come back from this past winter. Many perennials that I had given up on have only now started to show signs of life, and we are in June. It has never taken this long for so many plants to recover from a winter.

Besides the ones that are showing up later than ever, some of the evergreens are late with new foliage. The latest one is the sago palm (Cycas Revluta). It is only now showing off the new fronds, at least six weeks behind schedule.

 


 

While the sago palm had a few cold damaged fronds, it really did escape bad frost damage which is why I am surprised that it has taken so long for the new growth to emerge. I always enjoy watching the new growth on sago palms. The newly emerged fronds are a lovely light green and so soft. It is hard to imagine when stroking these soft, spring-green leaves that in just a short time they will be dark green and hard.

Now, if only my blue butterfly (Clerodendron ugandense) will sprout some growth, I will be satisfied. I am, however, beginning to think that that particularly lovely plant will not grace my garden unless I buy a new one. But, I am still holding out hope that it will be the latest plant to finally show some growth.

Have you found that plants in your area are late coming back this year?

4 Comments

  1. June 6, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    I love the soft look of the sago palm. With that great feathery texture, it definitely invites petting. Some plants are such slow pokes, but I try not to give up on them, since I’ve made the mistake of digging up non-starters, only to discover some green below the surface. I had some Trilliums that skipped a whole growing season, and showed up 13 months later.

    • Jan said,

      June 7, 2010 at 10:20 am

      I know I am an impatient gardener, so waiting to see what comes back up is a trial. You must have been surprised to see those Trilliums after all that time.

  2. garden mary said,

    June 7, 2010 at 10:19 am

    I have this in a pot and love it. I like the fact that this is such an old species.

    • Jan said,

      June 7, 2010 at 10:22 am

      I have seen these in pots around swimming pools, and they add a nice tropical feeling. It is amazing how old this species is. I, too, think that this is so interesting that we still have plants around that are almost prehistoric.


Leave a Reply

