Forgotten Daylilies

“Forgotten Daylilies”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

I don’t know if it is because I have too many plants or that I am losing it, but I am starting to forget what is in the garden. Just the other day, when I was deadheading the last of the yellow daylilies, I was thinking, “Well, that is just about it for the daylilies. I need to get more to extend the bloom period.” What was I thinking? I do have more daylilies that are yet to bloom (which I found out when I went to get the morning paper today).

Custard Candy has started blooming though I don’t think it is a vigorous as it should be. I may need to move them.

 

 

Plum Tree, the first daylily I ever had, is joining in the new cycle of daylily blooms.

 

 

There still are a few more daylilies which should have open flowers by next week.

What is it that helps your memory? Ginko biloba? See, I can’t even remember what is supposed to help your memory.

8 Comments

  1. keewee said,

    June 9, 2010 at 10:01 am

    No you are not losing it, I too forget what i have planted in my garden, until it blooms. I was looking at a photo the other day and there was a plant I had forgotten about, I went outside to see if it was still there, sure enough, it was about six inches up out of the ground, but hidden behind a Livingston daisy.

    • Jan said,

      June 9, 2010 at 12:28 pm

      Thanks, Keewee. It is good to know I am not the only one. This past fall, I took some cuttings of a tender plant, thought surely I would know what it was, and now, I have no idea what plant this is. It looks familiar, but no name comes to mind. Anyway, I planted it in the garden and am waiting to see if it blooms. Then, maybe I’ll recognize it.

  2. June 9, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    We just planted some Custard Candy this year…although, ours aren’t blooming yet. For memory in the garden these days, it’s spreadsheets to track planting and blooming, and permanent metal marker tags outdoors. It drives me crazy when I forget the name of something I’ve planted…and that’s happened more than once!

    • Jan said,

      June 9, 2010 at 12:30 pm

      You will enjoy Custard Candy. It is not quite as yellow as my photo shows. I, too, use metal markers to keep track of plant names, but I also keep the paper tags just in case.

  3. Nell Jean said,

    June 9, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    I keep lists. Sometimes I forget what I named the list, or where I put it.

    Yet to bloom here are Pandora’s Box, Bride Elect, Bourbon Kings and Byran Paul.

    • Jan said,

      June 10, 2010 at 4:26 am

      I used to keep a list, but found it wasn’t too helpful. Now that I have this blog, it is easier to look up what is in the garden if I forget.

  4. nancybond said,

    June 9, 2010 at 7:07 pm

    Custard Candy (aptly named) is a beauty! They’re both beautiful.

    • Jan said,

      June 10, 2010 at 4:28 am

      Custard Candy is a beauty, Nancy. As I mentioned before, the photo has it a little more gold than it really is. It’s color is much more like a rich vanilla custard. I just love it.


Leave a Reply

