Great Summer Flower

“Great Summer Flower”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

 

 

The hibiscus has started blooming.

All of my topical hibiscus plants are very old. These were among the first plants I had when I started gardening. I started out with container gardening and then, gradually started making garden beds.

I have been overwintering these hibiscus for years and years. The reason I take the trouble to protect these inexpensive plants is that I really only like the doubles, and they can be very hard to find some years. This winter, however, I lost three of my old friends. The ones that survived were knocked back pretty hard. One only started showing leaves about a week ago. After trimming back the dead wood, watering, and fertilizing, the first blooms have started. As I have written about before, so many of my plants are behind in sending out flowers. Usually, even with winter freezes, there are hibiscus blooms by late March. I have never had to wait until June for flowers. Only one of the survivors is blooming so far, and I think it will be a little longer before the others start flowering.

I feel it is time to try and take cuttings of these old plants since I don’t know how much longer they will be around. It will also be easier to protect smaller plants in the winter which will make dear hubby happy since he helps lug the heavy plants whenever a freeze threatens.

Hibiscus is such a great summer flower that I can’t wait for more blooms.

2 Comments

  1. garden mary said,

    June 11, 2010 at 11:36 am

    I like the doubles, too. You are right it is easier to find the singles. I find sometimes I can’t get the color I want either. There are some very pretty soft pinks out there, but often I can’t find them.

    • Jan said,

      June 11, 2010 at 3:40 pm

      Garden Mary, not being able to find the right color is the main reason I overwinter so many annuals or tender plants. It is so frustrating to have a favorite color flower and then not being able to find it the next year. That has happened with my white cat’s whiskers. I haven’t seen any in the nurseries, but, luckily, a few pieces have come back. This fall I will be taking cuttings to overwinter so I can be assured of having this plant for the summer.


Leave a Reply

