Newbies

“Newbies”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Just couldn’t resist.

When my number 1 sister and I went out last Thursday, our first stop was a nursery we had never been to before. As soon as we saw the daylilies blooming, we couldn’t resist buying some to add to our collection. I picked out a lovely lavender-pink one called Lavender Girl.

 

 

I also had to have another red daylily. The tag simply read “Red Daylily, hybrid”.

 

 

Both of these daylilies are repeat bloomers and had at least three fans.

Since I have had so many disappointments with mislabled plants, I now buy only when plants are in bloom so I can be sure of what I am getting. Since these were the only ones in bloom that day, I just may have to stop by this week to see if any of the others that had blooms are now open. Since I am planting more and more perennials in my garden, these newbies fit right in.

2 Comments

  1. jen said,

    June 14, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    It is simpler to purchase plants when they are in bloom isn’t it? It just seems like they can never get the colors right on the tags. Especially the blues..

    Love your daylillies.

    Jen

    • Jan said,

      June 15, 2010 at 5:53 am

      Not having the right tags on plants is becoming more and more a problem and it is so frustrating if you need a certain color flower. Just this past spring, my sister was telling me she bought pentas labeled “red” and none of them turned out to be red. They recommend you not buy plants that have flowers already to go with the bushy ones with buds, but then you often don’t get the right color.


Leave a Reply

