June Garden Bloggers Bloom Day

“June Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Thanks to Carol of May Dreams Gardens for coming up with GBBD. This is the day (15th of the month) in which we post everything which is blooming in our gardens. This is an easy way to keep a record of what is blooming in our gardens each month.

The daylilies are the ones doing the most blooming this month. Even the ones most recently planted have shown their lovely flowers.

 

 

 

 

 

The lavender gladiolus have finished blooming, but the yellow ones and Friendship, a pink variety are still blooming.

 

 

 

The hydrangea are still going strong – both the mopheads and the lacecaps.

 

 

Salvias, hibiscus, roses, asters, rain lilies, night-blooming cereus, and crybaby tree, flowering plants that I have recently written about, are all continuing to bloom. All and all, this has been a very good month for flowers. Be sure to visit May Dreams Gardens to see what flowers other gardeners are enjoying this month.

5 Comments

  1. garden mary said,

    June 16, 2010 at 8:11 am

    Seems like you have a lot of flowers blooming this month, Jan.

    • Jan said,

      June 16, 2010 at 1:33 pm

      Yes, it was so much better than previous months. So many plants seem to be blooming later.

  2. Pam said,

    June 18, 2010 at 7:55 am

    Hi, I’m new to your blog and love the idea of you posting what’s growing each month, especially because I live so close to you in Baton Rouge. Do you grow any heirloom plants? I recently planted Impatiens balsamina (Balsam) which blooms all summer. I love it!

    • Jan said,

      June 18, 2010 at 10:11 am

      Hi, Pam, I am so glad you found my blog. I do grow many heirloom plants because I have found them to be so well adapted to our area. I have had Balsam in my garden in years past, but haven’t planted it recently. I do not have as much shade as I did before Katrina, but maybe I should think about Balsam for next year in the semi-shady areas left.

  3. Melody said,

    June 20, 2010 at 5:13 pm

    The pink and yellow glads are so pretty. I have the old fashioned orange ones that multiply like crazy. I need to get some prettier ones.


Leave a Reply

