Double Daylilies

“Double Daylilies”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

I love frilly flowers. Occasionally, the simple flower form does appeal to me, but in general it is the double, frilly, full flowers that I can’t get enough of.

Two double daylilies just started blooming. The first is Vanilla Fluff. See for yourself. Isn’t it gorgeous?

 

 

I purchased this particular daylily at a garden show in the fall of 2008. The only thing I had to go on was a photo. I don’t think that photo did this flower justice. Otherwise, I would have bought more than two.

The next double is the old fashioned orange. My Number 1 sister gave this to me last year after she received it from my mother’s neighbor. It is very vigorous. This is only the second year it has been in my garden, and already it has multiplied nicely.

 

 

I don’t usually like orange flowers, but I am finding that the color is starting to grow on me. Without realizing it I have added more orange to the garden. It is funny how our tastes can change. My color preferences may change, but I don’t think my love of double flowers ever will.

8 Comments

  1. garden mary said,

    June 17, 2010 at 7:06 am

    I like the doubles, too. These are both lovely flowers.

    • Jan said,

      June 17, 2010 at 11:47 am

      Thanks, GM. There is just something about those big fluffy flowers.

  2. nancybond said,

    June 17, 2010 at 9:06 am

    These doubles are wonderful … and I do love orange!

    • Jan said,

      June 17, 2010 at 11:45 am

      Like I said, orange is starting to grow on me. It is a great summer color.

  3. Lona said,

    June 17, 2010 at 12:39 pm

    Hi Jan. I love your Vanilla Fluff lily. The doubles are always so pretty. I am not crazy about orange either but the lily is a pretty color of orange.

    • Jan said,

      June 18, 2010 at 10:14 am

      Lona, I don’t think I would like orange in the springtime, but in the summer, it does seem to be a good color. Now, if these would only bloom in the fall when orange is so appropriate.

  4. Jennifer said,

    June 18, 2010 at 6:51 am

    I have purchased daylilies only to be disappointed when they bloom. It is especially hard to find great pinks (or so I have found anyway) based on nursery tag photos. Your Vanilla Fluff certainly turned out to be worth that leap of faith when you bought it. I think it is lovely!
    Jennifer

    • Jan said,

      June 18, 2010 at 10:16 am

      Jennifer, I feel your pain. I have just given up believing tags if the plant is not in bloom. If I buy anything not in bloom, I do so with the idea it will not be what is marked that way I am not too disappointed.


Leave a Reply

