Jacob, Have I Loved

“Jacob, Have I Loved”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

With apologies to Katerine Paterson, the Jacob I love is the monarda (bee balm) Jacob Cline.

 

 

It has just started putting out blooms, and the red flowers are blending in so well with the other flowers in the entry garden. I just added this to the garden last spring where it did very well for its first year. This past winter, it was knocked back a bit so there is not as many flowers yet. I am hoping that it will recover this summer and spread more.

This variety is supposed to be more mildew resistant, and so far, I have had no problems with mildew, and I garden in the hot, humid South. It is the large, scarlet flowers that I love. The color is just so pretty and blends in well with the red daylilies I have recently planted in the entry garden.

The fact that these big, red flowers attract hummingbirds, butterflies, and bees is an added bonus. When I decided to plant more perennials, I certainly am glad that I found Jacob Cline.

6 Comments

  1. Randy said,

    June 18, 2010 at 7:05 pm

    Well,
    Once again you have introduced me to a new plant! I’ve never seen red Bee Balm before. We’ll be looking for that one. — Randy

    • Jan said,

      June 18, 2010 at 9:00 pm

      This is a great plant, Randy. I know it would look great in your garden.

  2. nancybond said,

    June 18, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    What a gorgeous, bright colour — no wonder the hummers and bees love it so.

    • Jan said,

      June 18, 2010 at 9:01 pm

      It is a great red color, Nancy. It is a true red, no orange tones.

  3. debsgarden said,

    June 18, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    I also have this monarda. It is in a partially shady spot in the woodland garden and is just beginning to bloom. I really like the blooms and hope to attract lots of hummingbirds! I tried to photograph it this week for my blog, but for some reason I couldn’t get a picture in focus. Yours is lovely!

    • Jan said,

      June 18, 2010 at 9:03 pm

      I was pleasantly surprised I could get the red color in the photo. Red is such a hard color for a digital camera to capture correctly. Yours should attract the hummers; mine does.


Leave a Reply

