Night Bloomer

“Night Bloomer”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

After missing two bloom periods, I finally got to see my night blooming cereus, but to do so, I had to move the plant to the entry garden. Usually, this night bloomer is situated on the north side of the house. This way, because the sun does not hit the flowers until after 9 AM, I can enjoy their beauty without having to stay up until after 11 PM when they first open. With the longer days, the flowers don’t open until very late when I am usually asleep. Since I am up and out in the garden early, I can see the flowers before they fade. Unfortunately, I missed two bloom cycles by not checking on this plant early enough. Hence, the moving of the plant to where I couldn’t miss it.

 

 

I don’t know what is happening to me, but I am starting to miss a lot of flowers when they first show up. Yesterday, I missed the first of the Texas Star flowers, and I have missed a few daylilies’ first flowers, too. I don’t know if I am just not as observant as I used to be, too busy, or if there is now too many plants in the garden for me to keep track of.

Either way, I am certainly glad I didn’t miss seeing this unusual night blooming flower.

3 Comments

  1. June 20, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    I love cereus – lucky you to see the blooms. I think finally I have to get one too, as some of my indoor plants decided to leave me, so new space has opened.

  2. Jeannie said,

    June 20, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    This is a beautiful flower. I love night blooming plants.

  3. Janet said,

    June 21, 2010 at 5:55 am

    Your bloom is very different from mine…your petals are thinner and frillier. It is a gorgeous bloom. Mine is not even close to putting out its first blooms…though I think I will have to check on previous years– I think it should have bloomed at least once already.


Leave a Reply

