No Resistance

“No Resistance”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

No resistance. Recently, I have found that when it comes to daylilies, I have no resistance. If I see one in bloom, I succumb and have to have it. Last Friday, my number 1 sister and I went shopping. Of course, that included plant nurseries. Even though it was blisteringly hot, we trudged through aisle after aisle finding a few plants that we just had to have.

Having decided to plant more blooming perennials, and having such good luck with daylilies, as soon as I saw these blooming beauties, I quickly scooped them up. (Remember after having purchased so many mislabeled plants, I now only buy those that have an open flower.) All the ones I purchased had many unopened buds which would mean I would enjoy a few flowers this year. The first one is Elizabeth Salter, a lovely rose-colored daylily.

 

 

Chicago Apache, a lovely red daylily, found its way into my entry garden.

 

 

The next three had were unlabeled, so I don’t know the names, but that doesn’t matter, they will still add color to the pink garden area.

 

 

 

Having daylilies that bloom at different times, makes giving up the annuals I used to plant easy to do. Resisting the impulse to buy more pretty daylilies seems to be impossible.

8 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    June 29, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    There are certainly some beauties out there….I keep thinking I could just stick with one color of daylily…..but then I see some of them out there and want all of them!

    • Jan said,

      July 3, 2010 at 4:38 am

      I know the feeling. I started out with yellow ones, then had to have pink, now I am into red.

  2. June 29, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    Your day lilies are beautiful. I’m lucky to live near a day lily collector, who supports his habit by selling directly from his garden. (I’m in New Hampshire.) He has hundreds of varieties, and has even done some experimenting with cross-pollination. His garden–huge–is in constant bloom all summer, and is just a riot of color.

    • Jan said,

      July 3, 2010 at 4:41 am

      Oh, you are lucky. I know I couldn’t resist if I was close to someone like that. Daylilies are such a gorgeous flower for the summer.

  3. Karen said,

    June 30, 2010 at 5:41 am

    I know what you mean about the daylilies! I have to buy some new ones every year. It’s a smart idea to buy them when they are in bloom — but sometimes I like surprises, too. Your choices are beautiful. I love that double apricot with the dark eye.

    • Jan said,

      July 3, 2010 at 4:43 am

      Thanks, Karen, I have only recently started with pink ones. There are so many daylilies, and it seems that every time I see a new one, I fall in love.

  4. Jake said,

    July 1, 2010 at 11:20 am

    Your Daylily’s look beautiful and you’re right that they are hard to resist and say no too.

    • Jan said,

      July 3, 2010 at 4:44 am

      Thanks for stopping by, Jake. I think daylilies are my new favorite plant. I have been adding more and more lately. How’s your garden going?


Leave a Reply

