A Daylily Summer

“A Daylily Summer”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

This certainly is turning out to be a daylily summer. I have added three more daylilies to the garden. Last Friday, my sister and I went out shopping, and, of course, we had to stop at a few nurseries. The heat was almost unbearable, but worth it as I found daylilies in bloom and on sale. My plan to add more blooming perennials to the garden is coming along very well as I am finding so many lovely daylilies.

Please excuse the condition of the flowers. Each plant still has several buds, but I wanted to share the pictures with you as soon as possible, so I took these photos of the flowers at the end of the day after they had been in the car. There is a little wear on the blooms, but you can still see how lovely they are.

Here is Little Wart, such a terrible name for such a lovely flower.

 

 

Next is Clara. I bought two of this variety.

 

 

Finally, there is Joylene Nichole.

 

 

All of these daylilies will go in the “pink” garden. I think that I have enough pink daylilies, and I am now ready to move onto other colors. Some of the darker colors are attractive as well as the spider type daylilies. I am really excited about daylilies now. After adding over ten daylilies to the garden in the last month, this summer is really turning out to be all about daylilies.

4 Comments

  1. July 11, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    Those are some beauties! I had lots of fun seeing what the new daylilies I got on sale at the end of last summer looked like this summer. I’m sad that some are finished blooming already.

  2. Karen said,

    July 12, 2010 at 9:58 am

    It seems like you have caught the bug. Daylilies are my passion. I love your new ones. And yes, dark ones and spiders are certainly worth a look. I hope you will have plenty of photos every time you add more to the garden.

  3. garden mary said,

    July 13, 2010 at 5:43 am

    Lovely daylilies. I am adding more to my garden too. Lucky you to find some still in bloom and on sale.

  4. Vittran said,

    July 13, 2010 at 6:50 am

    Lovley. I wish I could find this beautiful daylilies in Sweden.
    Have a nice dag!


Leave a Reply

