You Learn Something New Every Day

“You Learn Something New Every Day”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

A few years back, I was startled to see a small plant starting to grow on the flower stem of a daylily (that post is here). I soon found out about poliferation, a leafy shoot on a scape of a daylily plant. It often times will form roots which will allow the shoot to be planted to form a new plant. When it happened to one of my daylilies, the proliferation did not survive.

Usually, I cut back the stems of spent flowers, but somehow, a stem of Misty Mayhaw got by me. Imagine my surprise when I saw buds coming from the middle of the stem. I never thought that a proliferation would have flowers. But, sure enough, there were two buds. The first one did not open properly, but the second on did.

 

 

Now, I have to see if I can get this proliferation to live on its own.

I thought I had seen just about everything, but seeing that flower shows that we always have something new to learn.

5 Comments

  1. Ismail N said,

    July 21, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    I agree. The gentlest of teachers, nature can be. Simply beautiful.

  2. Jake said,

    July 22, 2010 at 11:54 am

    I knew that new plants could be grown on the Daylily stems but had o idea that they could bloom. Very neat!

    Jake

  3. donna said,

    July 22, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    Interesting. I’ve never before heard of this happening.

    donna

  4. Patsi said,

    July 23, 2010 at 5:15 am

    Amazing what we see in the garden…Misty Mayhaw is new to me.
    Oh…so much to learn.

  5. July 24, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    I need to pay more attention to those things. I am pretty quick at deadheading and taking spent stems off, though.


Leave a Reply

