Bonnie’s No Problem

“Bonnie’s No Problem”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Thank goodness, Tropical Storm Bonnie’s no problem for the Gulf Coast. We have been watching the weather forecasts about the latest tropical storm for the last few days and are so glad that Bonnie has proved to be nothing more than a rain event by the time it will get to us. I don’t mind that I picked up so many garden things in preparation for a storm that turned out to be nothing, and I am very glad that we won’t be picking up storm debris.

Even though they shut down the oil cleanup yesterday because of the forecast, some boats were already back out this afternoon skimming the oil. The winds also seemed to help push the oil from the coast.

Mother Nature didn’t pay any attention to the predictions of a storm. Here is a lovely hibiscus that opened up with no worry about being rained upon.

 

 

I’d rather look at this than hard rain and high winds, wouldn’t you?

6 Comments

  1. Mary said,

    July 24, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    Nice hibiscus! I love that color. I’m glad Bonnie will only bring us rain. I live south of Baton Rouge and was worried about a possible hurricane in the gulf. I will welcome the rain!

  2. July 24, 2010 at 8:38 pm

    I heard a guy on CNN saying Bonnie wasn’t going to be much. Yet, they were still preparing for the storm. I’m glad he was right.

    Your hibiscus sure is a beauty!

  3. garden mary said,

    July 25, 2010 at 6:29 am

    Happy to hear you missed a bad storm. I know getting ready for a storm is no fun, but not having to clean up after one is okay.

  4. July 25, 2010 at 9:44 am

    Glad to hear the storm calmed down. You don’t need any more problems down there. That’s a lovely color of Hibiscus. 🙂

  5. RobinL said,

    July 26, 2010 at 9:31 pm

    I’m glad the storms are missing you! I think my hibiscus is the exact same one. I’m really into peach, coral and orange this year for some reason.

    • Jan said,

      July 27, 2010 at 7:55 am

      Robin, I have had this particular hibiscus for years, but, like you, I am starting to like orange in the garden more and more. I usually don’t like orange, but it certainly is growing on me.


Leave a Reply

