Cabin Fever

“Cabin Fever”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

 

 

It is just about this time every year that I start to get cabin fever. I know cabin fever is associated more with winter, but here, during the hottest part of the summer, is when I get it. We have been having heat advisories or rain for the last five days. Today, we had both! Heat in the morning, rain in the afternoon. So, all this means is that, except for a few short forays into the garden very early in the morning just to look around, I spend my days indoors. Thanks goodness for flowers like this clematis; it certainly looks cool in the midst of summer’s heat.

I can’t wait for a little cooler weather so I can be outside again in the garden. There is still so much to do. There’s supposed to be a high chance of rain tomorrow, but I am hoping to get out and cut back the coleus plants and root some more cuttings. With this heat, that is about all I am able to do. At least I haven’t had to water anything in several days.

Funny, how we complained about all the cold weather this past winter, and now, it is the heat which has us wishing for autumn’s cooler temps.

2 Comments

  1. Jake said,

    July 27, 2010 at 11:34 am

    I know what you are talking about. It seems us humans are never happy with what mother nature gives us in terms of temperatures. Lol.

    Jake

  2. Pam said,

    July 31, 2010 at 6:19 am

    We’ve missed the rain here in Baton Rouge for the last several days so heat or not I MUST get out there and water some today. What a lovely blue Clematis to cool down your garden view. What is its name?


Leave a Reply

