Strange Hydrangea

“Strange Hydrangea”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Strange things seem to be going on in the garden. I’ve been growing hydrangeas for many years, but I have never seen this before.

My white lace caps bloomed as lovely and normal as ever earlier in the spring. About two weeks ago, I went around and cut off the spent blooms. There already were buds for new growth showing up farther down the stems. About three days ago, I noticed that new flower buds had sprung up on one of the new growth areas. Yesterday, I was startled to see the flowers starting to open, but they were not the normal lacecap ones.

 

 

Here is what the flowers looked like this May.

 

 

I am sure this has something to do with this being a second flush of flowers, but I don’t know why.

I guess this goes under the “you learn something new every day” category.

6 Comments

  1. Jake said,

    July 29, 2010 at 10:21 am

    At least you get to enjoy it blooming twice.

    Jake

  2. Phillip said,

    July 29, 2010 at 11:01 am

    That is odd!

  3. tina said,

    July 30, 2010 at 6:39 am

    Very interesting. A second bloom is always a bonus!

  4. Ginny said,

    July 30, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    One of my hydrangeas has two second flush blooms, though it isn’t one of the re-blooming varieties.

  5. Randy said,

    August 2, 2010 at 6:15 am

    Oh! Didn’t you know? That’s a JANdrangea bloom! 🙂


Leave a Reply

