White Beauties

“White Beauties”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

White. White is my favorite color for flowers, and two of the best white flowers have started showing up. The first is the butterfly ginger with its wonderful aroma.

 

 

When these luscious flowers start blooming in late summer, their sweet, but not cloying scent, perfume permeates the garden especially at night and very early in the morning. I have this plant in three different areas of the garden. One area is in shade (these are the ones that have just started blooming) and two other areas that get morning sun and dappled shade. Because they bloom at slightly different times, there is that wonderful perfume and white flowers for about six weeks or more showing up in the garden.

The other white flower that is now showing up is the white mandevilla. This plant was given to me by my mother three years ago, and every winter I dig it up and protect it from the freezing temperatures.

 

 

This year it was very late in putting out flowers, and I wonder if it is because of the last winter’s extra cold. The only reason I think that winter is the cause is because I am still finding plants in the garden that are only appearing now. Usually, if a plant has not appeared by May, it is not coming back, but this year I am still finding sweet potato vines, palm grass, and elephant ears that are only showing up now, in early August.

Anyway, I am certainly happy to see these white beauties now. Somehow, their appearance helps us endure the dog days of summer.

8 Comments

  1. garden mary said,

    August 7, 2010 at 7:41 am

    I love butterfly ginger. You are right, its perfume is wonderful. When the weather gets just a little cooler, it is great to be outside at night with a drink and that great, tropical perfume in the air.

    • Jan said,

      August 8, 2010 at 5:54 am

      Sitting outside in cool air with a cocktail and having butterfly ginger’s aroma in the air sounds like a perfect way to spend a relaxing evening, Mary.

  2. Sue said,

    August 7, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    I am going to have to start saving my mandevilla vines over the winter. I was so disappointed that I could not find my dark red colored one this spring.

    • Jan said,

      August 8, 2010 at 5:57 am

      Sue, I keep mine because my mother rooted it for me, and I tend to be sentimental about plants people give me. I also try and overwinter certain annuals because, just like you found this spring, it can be impossible to find the right color you may need the next year. I don’t see the dark red impatiens anymore, which were my favorites, is an example of this. Certain favorite coleus, too, is rarely available year after year.

  3. Kate said,

    August 9, 2010 at 11:26 am

    Wow that butterfly ginger is gorgeous! I don’t think I’ve seen one of those before. Do you know the latin name?

    • Jan said,

      August 9, 2010 at 3:47 pm

      Kate, the Latin name is Hedychium coronarium.

  4. Jake said,

    August 9, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    White is very beautiful for flowers. They are a pain to take a picture of in full sun. Lol.

    • Jan said,

      August 9, 2010 at 3:48 pm

      Everything is a pain to take a picture of in full sun, Jake.


Leave a Reply

