All Ears

“All Ears”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Today was my first day back at work after vacation. It wasn’t tough to getting up this morning, but I don’t know about tomorrow morning. The alarm goes off at 5:00 AM.

Anyway, when I arrived home, I immediately set out the sprinkler in the back garden since we didn’t get any rain, and it is so hot and dry. While outside, I noticed how well my new elephant ears are doing. This plant was a gift from my number one sister, who has generously shared so many of her plants with me. This one is called “Coffee Cups” because of its cup-shaped leaves. With the black stems, dark green leaves and unusual leaves, this is a very nice addition to my garden. The Latin name is Colocasia esculenta ‘Coffee Cups’.

 

 

There is also a “Tea Cup” elephant ear that has the same shape leaves only smaller.

Another elephant ear from this same generous sister is “Mickey Mouse”. She gave this one to me last year, and it took so long to come back after dying back during the winter that I thought it was totally gone. My sister gave me two more in mid-June, and I put one in a pot to overwinter and one in the ground. Just as I went to plant this second gift a few weeks ago, I saw a small leaf had appeared. My original plant was coming back. This was the latest I have ever had any elephant ears appear after a cold winter. Usually they are back up by April. Last year, I wrote about it here.

 

 

Glad that the dry, hot weather hasn’t affected these “ears”.

1 Comment

  1. Jake said,

    August 11, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    I of course love Colocasia’s! The ‘Coffee Cups’ is a plant you will LOVE once it is larger and it rains.

    Jake


Leave a Reply

