Color with Foliage

“Color with Foliage”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Rain, rain, rain. The last five days have been miserable – cloudy, rainy, humid, and hot. The tropical depression that thankfully did not develop into a storm certainly has given us enough rain for a while. The garden needed the rain and the cooler temperatures it brought, but for me there has been no getting out to check on things. Better weather will be coming though.

Plants that do seem to be enjoying the clouds and moisture are the caladiums.

 

 

These tubers were very tiny when I planted them. They were given to me by a neighbor who kept only her large ones and didn’t want to be bothered with the tiny new ones. After clearing out a section of the patio garden, I needed something to fill in the area, and these small caladium tubers were perfect. I am happy that the foliage has stayed short considering where I planted them, but I am surprised at how full the plants have become considering the small size of the tubers. I guess they must like where they are planted. Anyway, they certainly have filled in an area at the edge of the patio with colorful foliage for the summer.

I usually do not lift my caladium tubers in the fall because they usually come back, but after losing some last year with our unusually cold and wet winter, I am thinking I will dig them up this year. This is the first year I have planted mixed colors of caladiums in the back garden, and I like the effect.

More and more, I am finding that colorful foliage plants are the way to go when you live in an area with long, hot summers.

6 Comments

  1. Patsi said,

    August 14, 2010 at 8:16 am

    Caladiums sure add punch to the garden !
    Have a few myself.
    Not good at digging them up ….come fall and I’m tired.

    • Jan said,

      August 15, 2010 at 5:29 am

      I think the reason I haven’t dug mine up before is because of time. It just gets away from me. With color temps, I as catching up on all the garden chores I didn’t do in the heat of summer and forget about the caladiums once the foliage starts to go.

  2. daisygirl_io said,

    August 14, 2010 at 9:37 am

    I love Caladiums. I planted some pink and white ones in a container with some pink impatiens and they really took off. I love how the leaves move – like heads bobbing yes or no. 😉
    I also did a few containers with just Coleus. like you, I think colorful foliage plants are fantastic and right up there with flowering plants, in my book.
    have a look at what I planted: http://gardeningandgardens.blogspot.com/2010/07/updated-flower-box-photos.html

    • Jan said,

      August 15, 2010 at 5:31 am

      Your flower boxes look wonderful. You have some of the same coleus I planted this year. I keep meaning to post about the coleus, but working with the photos take so much time (which I haven’t had lately). More and more I am finding colorful foliage the way to go.

  3. Janet said,

    August 17, 2010 at 7:10 am

    I loved having caladiums in my garden. I was lazy and left them in the ground, so none came back. Our Virginia garden was too cold, will be the same in SC. Colorful foliage is sure a nice addition to the garden.

    • Jan said,

      August 17, 2010 at 3:47 pm

      Usually, mine will come back, but last year my favorite, Gingerland, didn’t. It is sometimes difficult to find the time to dig them up in late fall. I am really going to try and do it this year.


Leave a Reply

