Reblooming in August

“Reblooming in August”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

As I have moved away from growing flowering annuals to growing more flowering perennials, I have noticed that while there is still color in the garden right now, mainly from foliage, this summer I have missed the profusion of flowers that have been present in previous summers. I have not missed the high maintenance of annuals, however. Not having to be outside in the heat of summer watering, fertilizing, and dead heading annuals has been very liberating.

I know as my perennials get bigger and more established there will be more flowers. Plants that are carrying me through this lack of flowers are the rebloomers, and one rebloomer showing off flowers right now is the gardenia bushes.

 

 

These shrubs will rebloom if they are trimmed back lightly in the spring as soon as they are finished blooming. The second bloom period is not as prolific, but having flowers in late August when most of the garden is tired from the long, hot days is certainly a treat. I am just hoping that next year there will be other perennials joining the gardenias in a late summer blooming.

6 Comments

  1. garden mary said,

    August 27, 2010 at 4:45 am

    I need to use more perennials, too. I have found this year that the annuals I planted needed to be watered just about everyday. What foliage plants do you use?

    • Jan said,

      August 27, 2010 at 6:45 pm

      I really used a lot of coleus this year, Mary, and, of course, caladiums for colorful foliage. I also have tried to add more texture to garden beds by using different shaped leaves next to one another and different colors of green for some contrast. Of course, earlier in the summer there were many flowers, but now not so many. I am waiting for the fall bloomers to start.

  2. Randy said,

    August 27, 2010 at 7:39 am

    We seem to be doing right the opposite. This was the first year we placed annuals in our garden. The extra blooms have been a real treat. The marigolds have done the best. The yellow is almost glowing in the garden now.

    • Jan said,

      August 27, 2010 at 6:50 pm

      Randy, glad to hear you are having so many flowers right now. I made the decision in the spring not to plant annuals because with our heat, it is just so difficult to water the garden as many annuals demand. There were years that I would have to water twice a day. The only annuals we have this year are the ones that have reseeded, such as impatiens, salvias, etc. Next year, I may add some annuals in containers around the garden, but I don’t think I will go back to the big plantings. Besides, with all the new perennials there is simply not the room for many summer annuals.

  3. Scott said,

    August 27, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    You are so right, that first year or so can seem a little barren, but perennial reward in future years with less maintenance and growing shows…getting better and better. I do use a few annuals here and there…mostly the ones I just love and can’t live without (cosmos, nasturtiums, etc).

  4. Mary Beth said,

    August 28, 2010 at 7:16 pm

    As life has become busier, I have also moved more towards more perennials and fewer annuals. But I do miss the zinnias and marigolds..


Leave a Reply

