Labor Day 2010

“Labor Day 2010”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

 

 

I hope everyone had a great day today. All laboring people needed a day off from work. Here, there was no labor done. I had a great three-day gardening spree planned. Tidying up the garden, trying to get rid of weeds, doing the last pruning of the year.

Unfortunately, none of that happened. My back did not cooperate with my plans. I don’t know what happened. Very early Saturday morning, I was simply doing a little vacuuming and dusting and noticed that my lower back was hurting. I don’t remember doing anything that would have caused any back problem.

What made this situation doubly frustrating is that we had our first dry, cool front move through Saturday morning. It would have been the perfect weekend in over four months to work out in the garden.

My back is better today, and it will probably be fine just in time to go back to work tomorrow. This must have been God’s way of telling me I needed to rest this weekend.

I hope everyone was able to do whatever it was they wanted to – rest, play, or garden.
(Don’t you wish postage was still that cheap.)

3 Comments

  1. garden mary said,

    September 7, 2010 at 4:43 am

    Sorry you weren’t able to garden on your mini-vacation. Maybe you really did need to rest instead. My attitude is that the garden will always be there to work in tomorrow.

    • Jan said,

      September 7, 2010 at 4:46 am

      Thanks, Mary. I guess that is the only attitude to have.

  2. Sue said,

    September 8, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    I’ve had days like that, too. It is so frustrating to have plans you have looked forward to suddenly go up in smoke. Good attitude about being able to do what you want later.


Leave a Reply

