Snake Alert

“Snake Alert”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

I don’t know what is happening lately, but I just am so busy that I can’t blog as much as I want to. I use this blog as a way of keeping a record of what is happening in my garden, so I really do want to post more regularly. I used to be able to write a post everyday, but now, life is getting very complicated.

So, let me catch up a little with what has been going on around here. This morning, after my coffee, I went upstairs to get dressed and what was on my bedroom curtains – a large lizard. Now, I do like to see lizards around the garden but definitely not in the bedroom. As I went to find dear hubby so he could remove said lizard, I passed by my little button fern and immediately noticed something strange. On closer inspection, I realized it was a snake skin.

 

 

This is the first time we have ever seen a snake skin around, and I am not too thrilled it was so close to the house. It must be from this little fellow we saw earlier in the summer.

 

Snakes are very beneficial to the garden. They eat insects and rodents. I have read that they can really do a number on grasshoppers. I wonder if that is why I am not seeing as many lubbers as I used to. The snakes do this work without damaging the garden. Garter snakes are supposed to eat slugs, and anything that eats slugs can’t be all bad.

In general, you have nothing to fear from snakes. This is especially true if you live in the United States. Only four species of snakes are dangerous in The United States. They are the copperhead, the rattlesnake (several species) the cottonmouth, and the coral snake. Now these are the ones you need to avoid and not invite into your garden.

If you see a snake in your garden, remember they are keeping the grasshopper, cricket, mice, moles and other critter populations down, making for a nicer garden. They want nothing to do with you. Try to overcome your fears and enjoy the benefits the snakes are providing.

Now, as for me I don’t mind an occasional snake in my garden as long as I don’t see it.

12 Comments

  1. Phillip said,

    September 12, 2010 at 7:33 pm

    I’ve always been extremely afraid of snakes. I do realize that they can be beneficial to the garden. I just hope that I don’t come across one!

    • Jan said,

      September 13, 2010 at 4:28 am

      Phillip, I am not real fond of them either and always give them a wide berth. If they are the small, harmless ones, I am not too bothered by them (from a distance).

  2. Maryse said,

    September 12, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    I totally agree with your last sentence! I enjoy reading your blog… Have a great week!

    • Jan said,

      September 13, 2010 at 4:29 am

      Thanks, Maryse. I know it can be disconcerting for most people to suddenly come upon a snake.

  3. September 12, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    Good post! I don’t mind snakes NEARLY so much as I mind rats, for some reason. And I think snakes can always use someone to speak up for them!
    Cheers!
    Elizabeth

    • Jan said,

      September 13, 2010 at 4:43 am

      It is a shame that people kill harmless snakes because they can do so much good in keeping the vermin down. Since our outside cat passed away, we have been seeing these small black snakes. Maybe the snakes are taking up his job of keeping away the field mice out of the garden.

  4. September 13, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    Great post Jan. I love seeing snakes in our gardens. We mostly see Santa Cruz Garter Snakes, Pacific Ringneck, and Gopher Snakes. Occasionally a Mountain King Snake (my favorite, as they’re so colorful), and the odd rattlesnake or two, but thankfully they’re relatively rare. Living where we do, surrounded by woodland, there is no shortage of food for them here, and I know they’re doing their part to keep the garden in balance. To help them, we leave small brush and woodpiles in the wilder areas of the property, and have a number of rocky areas for them to haul out on to sun themselves. I think everyone should have a few snakes in the garden.

    • Jan said,

      September 13, 2010 at 3:56 pm

      I am kind of a live and let live type of person. Keeping down pests is okay with me, but I only want to see harmless snakes around our house. If I saw any poisonous ones, that would mean an immediate cleanup of the adjoining neighbor’s yard. My elderly neighbor’s lawn crew does not do a very good job on the side next to our property, but I don’t mind it being a refuge for wildlife as long as they are not dangerous.

  5. Scott Weber said,

    September 14, 2010 at 11:42 am

    I’ve never been particularly afraid of snakes…but they ALWAYS startle me by darting underfoot!

    • Jan said,

      September 14, 2010 at 3:25 pm

      Yes, they certainly can be very startling when they dart out in trying to get away from you. My dear hubby moved an upside down flower pot a week ago, and there was one resting inside. Gave him quite a start.

  6. September 25, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    We have garter snakes in our neighborhood, and they like our yard. One year, I posted a photo of a bunch of them in the bush in front of our house. I didn’t know a couple neighbor ladies were reading my blog. My next door neighbor was very cool and distant for awhile, and when I asked her if she was mad at me, she called me a snake lover, and I shouldn’t encourage them because she is afraid of them, and has had some in her house. I told her to let us know if she had one in the house, and my husband would get it out for her. She finally got over it.

    • Jan said,

      September 26, 2010 at 9:43 am

      Oh, I can’t believe she would be distant over snakes in your garden. It is not like you bought them and placed them there. You can’t control nature. I am glad she finally got over it. She must really be afraid of snakes.


Leave a Reply

