First Time

“First Time”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

No matter how many years you may have been gardening, there is always something new to learn or try. For me, this spring brought something new to try. Many plants that can be grown in other areas just will not survive our hot summer days and nights. It is not unusual for temperatures to not dip below 85 for days or nights. In fact, it is not uncommon for some nights that it will be almost midnight before we are out of the 90’s, so many plants that will survive in areas with at least cooler nights will not make it through the summer here.

I have always thought that Sedum Autumn Joy was such a lovely plant when it bloomed in the fall. I would see photos in magazines that just made me want to grow this for early autumn color when most of the garden was looking pretty shabby, but you just did not see it available around here. A few years back when Autumn Joy started showing up for sale, I was hesitant to purchase it because I was not sure if it would do well here. After all, I have seen so many plants for sale around here in early spring that will just die when the first big heat wave comes through (I am referring to peonies, lily of the valley, lilacs, etc all which I have seen for sale). Any way, since this sedum has been for sale for a few years around here, and even though I have never seen it grown in any garden around here, I decided to give it a try.

My three small plants have done fairly well and have rewarded my faith with their wonderful autumnal-colored flowers.

 

 

When I saw that the flowers were turning pink, I was very excited.

 

 

When they turned this lovely rust color, I knew these were keepers. With the garden reaching its peak in spring and early summer, it is nice to have some flowers to look forward to come autumn. Also, since we have so few trees that will turn those gorgeous fall colors, it is nice to have something blooming with colors that say, “Fall’s here.”

 

 

I know many of you will not think that growing Autumn Joy is a big deal, but it is a first time for me, and I am thrilled they survived, grew, and bloomed in the Deep South.

6 Comments

  1. Mary said,

    September 14, 2010 at 7:10 pm

    Good blog post. I’ve been thinking about planting this in my garden, but haven’t yet. I’ll have to go out and get one!

    • Jan said,

      September 15, 2010 at 4:34 am

      Mary, I was very pleased with these plants. I planted three and have read they are very easy to propagate. I’ll be making more next year. I might even try Joe Pye Weed, another fall bloomer next year if I can find it.

  2. September 15, 2010 at 10:58 am

    I think Sedum is a big deal. And, I’m thrilled to hear that you an grow it! I have a few of them in my gardens and I leave them, uncut, over winter. You probably won’t get to experience this but I think the rust-colored blossoms are just stunning peeking out of the freshly fallen snow.

    • Jan said,

      September 15, 2010 at 6:46 pm

      No, I don’t think I will see the flowers peeking out of snow, but I can just imagine how pretty that must be.

  3. Jake said,

    September 15, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    Your plant is further along then mine which is expected. Mine has just started to change to the pink colour here in Lexington. Mine I had in FL did great although it did seem the heat ad humidity made it lose it’s bottom leaves. Lovely pics!

    Jake

    • Jan said,

      September 16, 2010 at 4:34 am

      Thanks, Jake. I wish I would have planted this sooner. I can see that the bottom leaves are getting a little sparse on mine. Using your experience, it must be the heat. Thank goodness cooler temps will be here soon.


Leave a Reply

