Rooting Coleus

“Rooting Coleus”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

This has been a very good year for coleus here. In fact, it has been so good that I have been able to make several cuttings that are now good sized plants that are residing in containers and in different areas around the garden.

About two weeks ago, I started new cuttings for fall planting. Since our first freeze date is not until November 15th, and often it is not until late December until we have a freeze, these new cuttings will be a nice addition to the late year garden.

 

 

I used mostly autumnal colored coleus since those colors will be the most appropriate for the season. These new plants will have to make up for the lack of fall leaf color around here. They all have a good root system, so it looks like this weekend will find me potting up my little babies. I love getting plants for free.

4 Comments

  1. Robert said,

    September 17, 2010 at 4:28 am

    We always use fall colored coleus in vases in the house in the autumn for decoration. Maybe we ought to pot up some of the rooted cuttings this year instead of just throwing them away.

    • Jan said,

      September 19, 2010 at 6:13 am

      I won’t hurt to give it a try, Robert, and you do get free plants.

  2. September 19, 2010 at 5:59 am

    Such a great idea! Do you use a rooting hormone or place them directly in the soil? And do you bring them in over the winter or just enjoy them now for the fall? I think I’m going to take your suggestion and do this today! Thanks –

    • Jan said,

      September 19, 2010 at 6:13 am

      Kate, I just placed these in the soil. Coleus roots so easily you do not need to use a rooting hormone. Most of these I will just enjoy for the fall, but a few favorites I will either bring inside or make new plants again from cuttings in early winter. I usually try and overwinter only the ones I really love since many times I won’t be able to purchase that variety in the spring, and I really do not have a lot of space to keep plants indoors where my cat will not get to them.


Leave a Reply

