Rain and Toad Lilies

“Rain and Toad Lilies”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

A few days ago, I was complaining about the hot dry weather we had been having for over three weeks. Well, that has changed, or at least the dry part has changed. The rains have arrived, and I can’t believe how fast the garden has perked up. I had been watering the garden, but there is nothing like rain to make plants stand up tall and grow.

Of course, there was a big mistake made with watering just before the rains came. Wednesday, when I came home from work, I put out the sprinkler on the wilted hydrangeas. When I went upstairs around 8 that evening, dear hubby asked if I had the sprinkler on, and I was so thankful he said something about it because I had totally forgotten it was still running. Of course, he said he would go and turn it off. Unfortunately, he got sidetracked and forgot, and when I returned home from work on Thursday, the sprinkler was still running. (In the morning when I leave, it is still dark, so I didn’t see it was not turned off.) Needless to say, that area of the yard did not need the rain that came on Friday and today. You can bet we are not going to forget the sprinkler again. We’ve decided to put on a timer to remind us to turn the water off.

But the toad lilies are plants that are looking a lot better because of the rain. They are just starting to bloom and look like little jewels.

 

 

Whenever we get a lot of rain, the frogs and toads can be heard in the evening singing. After a couple of days of rain, it is nice to see these “toads” in the daytime.

14 Comments

  1. September 25, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    I don’t grow any of those, but I enjoy seeing them on blogs. I’ve left a sprinkler on too long before, but I wonder if you have set a record of some kind leaving it on that long.

    We’ve been having some rain off and on the last few days, too.

    • Jan said,

      September 26, 2010 at 9:41 am

      Sue, I think you might be right about that record. I still can’t believe dear hubby didn’t notice it during the day as he put another sprinkler out in the back garden and was complaining about the low water pressure.

  2. Jane said,

    September 26, 2010 at 1:54 am

    Love toad lilies. We are finally getting some rain, too, and my garden plants are looking better.

    • Jan said,

      September 26, 2010 at 9:44 am

      Yes, Jane, rain really does make a difference doesn’t it?

  3. September 26, 2010 at 4:35 am

    Dear Jan, I love toads and toad lilies. How lovely that you have both! Pam

    • Jan said,

      September 26, 2010 at 9:45 am

      Yes, it is nice to have both. Not many gardeners grow toad lilies around here. I never see them in anyone’s garden. In fact, I was not sure they grew here, but decided to try, and now I am so glad I did.

  4. Scott Weber said,

    September 27, 2010 at 11:04 am

    Ouch…That is one of my big fears, leaving the water on…we also installed a timer, just for that purpose! I always say, the easiest way to make rain come is for me to REALLY give the garden a good soaking…it seems to just summon a downpour!

    • Jan said,

      September 27, 2010 at 5:07 pm

      We used to have timers, but they made so much noise when they went off, dear hubby got rid of them. Bet he’s sorry now. LOL

  5. Pass-a-long Plants said,

    September 27, 2010 at 11:49 am

    Believe me you’re not the only one who leaves water on. I’ve done it on many occasions but the funny thing is wherever I have left it on everything there is greener and bigger. I hope thats the case for you. Keep your hands dirty.

    • Jan said,

      September 27, 2010 at 5:10 pm

      I am just thankful that the water was left on the hydrangeas. They can take the water. My neighbor didn’t need to water her area next to our adorning side.

  6. September 27, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    These are lovely! I’ve never grown them and wonder if I can in the Northeast? How big do they get?

    • Jan said,

      September 27, 2010 at 5:14 pm

      Oh, I am sure you can grow these in the Northeast. The variety pictured grow about two to three feet long, but they lean over. Remember, down here we have a very long growing season with months of warm temps, so ours may put on more growth than those grown further north. These are great fall bloomers when not much else is blooming and do very well in shade.

  7. RobinL said,

    September 27, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    Can you just blow some of that extra rain up here to Ohio? It finally cooled off, but it’s still pretty dry! The tenth of an inch we got today probably won’t do much good.

    • Jan said,

      September 27, 2010 at 5:48 pm

      Wish I could, Robin. We had our first cool day today, and it was heavenly. Can’t wait for tonight – lows around 60 degrees which is something we haven’t felt in over six months.


Leave a Reply

