Stamens

“Stamens”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Like the long eye lashes of a pretty woman, the long stamens of two of my favorite flowers are catching the attention of visitors to the garden. Cat’s Whiskers (Orthosiphon aristatus) starts blooming in the summer and one look at this flower’s extra long stamens explains its common name.

 

 

Many people who have seen this flower are amazed by its unusual look and want to know what it is.

More lycoris radiata or Hurricane lilies have popped up since my last post about these fall bloomers, and it seems that many people are not familiar with this plant. This is another long stamen flower, and those almost four inch spikes make for a striking flower especially when groups of them are in bloom.

 

 

I have had more people stop and ask what these two blooming flowers are than ever before. Today was our first cool day since April, and it seems many walkers decided to take advantage of the low temperatures. Since more people were out and about, that accounts for the many questions about these flowers. They certainly gave me the opportunity to connect with many neighbors I hadn’t seen in a while.

7 Comments

  1. September 27, 2010 at 7:43 pm

    Dear Jan, I can see why these blooms attract so much attention … they are so unusual. They are new to me also. Glad you are experiencing some cooler weather. Pam

    • Jan said,

      September 29, 2010 at 3:00 pm

      Pam, I am reveling in the cooler temps. After months of heat and humidity, it is so nice to be cool and dry.

  2. September 28, 2010 at 11:58 am

    Absolutely gorgeous. I’ve not heard of either of these beauties…

    • Jan said,

      September 29, 2010 at 3:00 pm

      I was written about both of these before and just love them.

  3. Scott Weber said,

    September 29, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    I ADORE these…so dramatic!

    • Jan said,

      September 29, 2010 at 2:58 pm

      Aren’t they! When I saw the first ones years ago, I just had to have some.

  4. Jennifer said,

    September 30, 2010 at 10:58 am

    Very dramatic! No wonder they draw attention.


Leave a Reply

