Out in the Garden

“Out in the Garden”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Glorious weather. The weather this last week has been absolutely glorious here on the Gulf Coast. Perfect gardening weather. Cool, crisp, sunny days just can’t be beat especially after months of heat, high humidity, and blistering sun. I was able to get so much accomplished.

One of the chores I was able to do was cutting back the bamboo stand on the north side of our property. This is not running bamboo, but it still spreads slowly. I cut back the canes that were leaning over and shading the lower plants. I think this will help the hydrangeas bloom better next year.

 

 

Even though I have cut back seven large trash cans worth of bamboo, there is still a big stand left to give us privacy from the neighbors. Later on in the winter, I plan on taking out the dead canes, but right now there are too many other pressing jobs to get done.

One other long put off task that got accomplished this weekend was the dividing of my Stella d’Oro daylilies. I was able to spread them out so that they make a nice border in the circle garden. I am hoping to be able to divide the other daylilies either this week after work or next weekend. I am keeping my fingers crossed that the “feel good” weather will last that long.

There is still a great deal of work to do in the garden before the cold weather arrives. I am still debating about planting more daffodil bulbs. I know I can’t wait too much longer to decide. Down here in the South, fall is a very busy time for gardeners. The cooler weather certainly makes me more energetic and willing to be out in the garden working.

3 Comments

  1. Jane said,

    October 4, 2010 at 4:21 am

    Sounds like you were really busy out in your garden. We had great weather, too, and I, like you, got many fall cleanup chores done.

  2. Robert said,

    October 4, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    I had a great weekend working in the garden, too. Love the bamboo.

  3. mjg said,

    October 5, 2010 at 4:34 am

    It was a lovely weekend here, wasn’t it?


Leave a Reply

