Toad Lilies Show Up

“Toad Lilies Show Up”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Fall and toad lilies go together. In fact, that is one of the reasons I planted toad lilies – their fall flowers. This variety is the first one I planted many years ago. At the time, I was afraid that this plant wouldn’t grow here in the Deep South, but my fears were unwarranted. These toad lilies have thrived.

 


My original plant was eaten earlier this summer by those cute little bunnies that I saw in the garden a few months back. They completely wiped out the toad lilies that were growing under the Kwansan cherry tree. I couldn’t believe that not one shred of toad lily was left, and it was a huge bed of lilies. In fact, I was just about to divide the plants, when all of a sudden, they were gone. Luckily, I had a few that I raised from the original plant’s seeds, and these were spread in other parts of the garden which the rabbits have not discovered. I’ll have to save seeds this year to replace the eaten plants.

Toad lilies grow and bloom in shade which makes them very valuable here at Always Growing. With all the large pine trees, there is a great deal of shade, and it is a challenge to find blooming plants that thrive in the shady areas. Add the fact that they bloom in early autumn when color is often needed in the garden, and you have a wonderful, easy to care for perennial, just watch out for hungry rabbits.

5 Comments

  1. Robert said,

    October 11, 2010 at 4:36 am

    Lovely flowers.

  2. garden mary said,

    October 11, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    I love toad lilies. You are right about them blooming in the shade. Mine get very little morning sun, but they still always bloom.

  3. Jennifer said,

    October 12, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    I am trying toad lilies for the second time. It is dry shade conditions here in my garden and so they have a tough time of it. This time, I am trying to find a spot where I can pamper them with a bit of extra water.

    • Jan said,

      October 12, 2010 at 5:46 pm

      I make sure I water mine a lot in the summer since I also have them in an area that tends to be dry. I think they are worth the extra effort.

  4. Julie said,

    October 14, 2010 at 7:57 am

    Lovely, lovely toad lilies! Your post reminded me that I have some planted…somewhere…in front of my office window. I was trying to peak and find them…to no avail. I seriously need to investigate that bed (and perhaps clean it up!) Thank you for the reminder via your post! 😉


Leave a Reply

