Red Pine Cones

“Red Pine Cones”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Pine cones and fall go together, but the pine cones I have been interested in lately are not your normal pine cones. I have been watching and waiting for the pine cone ginger (Zingiber zerumbet) to produce its “pine cone.” Finally, the red “pine cones” were visible.

 

 

I wrote about this plant last year about this time, but this year I have more of the ginger pine cones. I think this is such a neat plant. All summer long, there is the lovely, lush foliage, and then come autumn, these bright red pine cones appear.

The fragrance given off by these red “cones” is also very nice. The milky substance in the “cones” which is supposed to be a very good shampoo (hence the other common name for this plant, Shampoo Ginger) has a lovely lanolin smell, but I have never tried it as a shampoo as I would hate to ruin the pretty, red cones. However, I have squeezed them after they have aged and there is a thin, milky cream, which smells divine, that I could see being used as a shampoo. I know my hands liked the feel of that sweet-smelling liquid.

Last year when I wrote about this plant, I was hoping that it would spread and produce more “cones.” Looks like I have gotten my wish.

6 Comments

  1. October 12, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    How beautiful Jan! Interesting to learn more about the qualities and uses of this plant. ;>)

  2. Randy said,

    October 13, 2010 at 9:10 am

    Oh I think I would have to try it as a shampoo at least once! We had about 14 different gingers and we lost them all to the bulldozer. 😦 When we get more shade I’ll try growing them again.

  3. Janet said,

    October 14, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    I remember you writing about it last year. I will have to see if I can find some in the spring for my garden. Love that red cone.

  4. October 14, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    I like your pine cone ginger, both for the leaves, and the interesting red cones. How fortunate that it spread for you. Of course, its scientific name is a lot of fun to say, too. 🙂

  5. donna said,

    October 15, 2010 at 4:47 am

    Always interesting to visit your blog, Jan, because almost always there’s a plant being featured that’s new to me. When I saw the post title, I was expecting a big, old pine tree.

    donna

  6. Robin said,

    May 3, 2012 at 4:15 pm

    Hi, I,v had this plant in my ground for several years, I never knew the name of it, but of course knew it was some kind of a pinecone, never knew you could use it as shampoo tho. I,m going to take a neice some diffrent plants I have, and was looking around for more. figured I,d dig some of it up but wanted to know the name 1st. Thanks Robin


Leave a Reply

