October Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day

“October Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Thanks to Carol of May Dreams Gardens for coming up with GBBD. This is the day (15th of the month) in which we post everything which is blooming in our gardens. I didn’t think that there were many blooms in my garden this month, but I was mistaken. Once I was out and photographing, I was pleasantly surprised by the number of blooms.

There still are many tropicals blooming, such as the hibiscus and gingers, but the cold weather that is just around the corner will stop this.

 

 

 

 

 

Some other warm season flowers still showing up is the Angelonia, Mandevilla vine, plumbago, impatiens, and lantana.

 

 

 

 

 

Some fall bloomers joining the toad lilies and sedums are the Mexican Bush Sage, pineapple sage, and vanhoutte sage.

 

 

 

 

Miscellaneous plants blooming are the clematis crispa, Mystic Spires sage, Cat’s Whiskers, Blue Butterfly bush, roses, four o’clocks, weeping mary, and even the lorepetulum is starting to bloom again.

 

 

 

 

 

I think there are more flowers in the garden now then when it was summer. It is wonderful what a few weeks of cool weather will do to promote blooming late in the year.

14 Comments

  1. RBell said,

    October 15, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    The Blue Butterfly Bush is on my ‘Gotta Get’ list – hard to pass up blooms like that. Several gardeners here in central Texas are also high on Cat’s Whiskers – might have to consider one of those.

    • Jan said,

      October 16, 2010 at 6:00 am

      I LOVE Cat’s Whiskers. It is such a great plant – blooms profusely, no pests, and a fast grower. I was lucky that mine returned after winter. The Blue Butterfly Bush is also a great plant because of its color (a true blue) and the flower’s shape. Too bad it doesn’t spread like the other clerodendrons will.

  2. Larry said,

    October 15, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    So many lovely and (to me) uncommon blooms… L

    • Jan said,

      October 16, 2010 at 6:01 am

      Thanks, Larry. What I like about reading blogs is finding out about new plants.

  3. Janet said,

    October 16, 2010 at 7:54 am

    I like the Cat’s Whiskers a lot. I will have to check into whether it is hardy for my area.
    I can almost smell the fragrance on your Ginger Lily.

  4. October 16, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    Lovely photos! you’ve still got quite a bit blooming. That Mexican Sage is gorgeous. Its on my list of plants to get next year. Thanks for sharing!

  5. October 16, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    I had to check where you are located because I am not familiar with all the plants that you have shown . One is the little blue bell vine. At least it looks like a vine. You have many beautiful flowers.

    • Jan said,

      October 17, 2010 at 6:09 am

      That little blue bell vine is Clematis crispa or Swamp Leatherflower. I just love the flowers that show up all summer.

  6. October 16, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    Dear Jan, Your tropicals are gorgeous. Cat’s Whiskers are new to me… have to do some research. Pam

  7. October 16, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    I love the butterfly bush. My own is starting to slow down after five months of basking in the warmer weather. I’m jealous of your gingers–my two plants aren’t convinced they need to flower any sooner than next year…

  8. Scott Weber said,

    October 19, 2010 at 8:52 am

    Beautiful pics…I’m in love with that Clematis!

  9. October 22, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    It’s cool to make discoveries while taking photos for posts. I see some flowers I grow, and others I’ve not tried yet. I like growing different kinds of sages and salvias. Your bell shaped clematis is so pretty and dainty looking.

  10. Kathleen said,

    November 17, 2010 at 9:57 am

    Aaahhh, there are those Cat Whiskers! White is the color I found & planted this year ~ have you grown them in other colors? I’m thinking purple??? You’re so lucky they return year after year for you. Here they were an annual and I’m just hoping I can find them again next spring. Your garden looks really pretty.

    • Jan said,

      November 17, 2010 at 6:28 pm

      I have only grown them in white. I had thought of doing the purple, too. Maybe next year.


Leave a Reply

