Botanical Gardens

“Botanical Gardens”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Wow! What a busy week. I am certainly looking forward to this weekend. Maybe some garden work and a lot of rest and relaxation.

Last weekend was the garden show at the New Orleans Botanical Gardens. I’ll post about that next time. Tonight, I just wanted to show you some of the nice areas of the Botanical Gardens.

First, there was a wall of purple hyacinth bean vines. It was spectacular and made me want to grow this next summer.

 

 

While strolling the grounds, we suddenly turned a corner and were stopped dead in our tracks by this huge staghorn fern. It was at least five feet across. It was tremendous. I wonder where it is overwintered? It would have to be a very big space.

 

 

The flower beds were gorgeous this year. They were mostly blues and purples, a very nice combination for full sun since they tend to “cool” things down.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Amaranth surrounded by the globe amaranth was a stand out.

 

 

And, finally, my favorite, a stand of Cosmopolitan grass. I would love to have this in my garden, but I have not been able to find it locally. I guess next year I will have to break down and buy it online.

 

 

One of the nice things about visiting a botanical garden is that you get ideas for your own garden. Next year, I will definitely have to have the purple hyacinth bean vine and the Cosmopolitan grass.

8 Comments

  1. debsgarden said,

    October 22, 2010 at 7:58 pm

    I have grown the purple hyacinth bean before, and it is lovely. Somehow I didn’t have seeds this year, and even my husband comment on missing its presence. I definitely will grow it again next year.

  2. garden mary said,

    October 23, 2010 at 5:31 am

    The hyacinth bean vines are gorgeous; I would love to have a wall of them, too. I am not familiar with the Cosmopolitan grass, but it looks spectacular, and I wouldn’t mind having it in my garden either.

  3. Janet said,

    October 24, 2010 at 7:07 am

    That Staghorn Fern is really incredible. I don’t think I have ever seen one that large. I like hyacinth bean vine, really puts out a lot of growth in a short time. I am a purple fan.
    I like the big Miscanthus, I am looking around for M. Dixieland, had it in Virginia and really like the size and form.

  4. growingdays said,

    October 26, 2010 at 6:44 am

    I can’t wait to grow the purple hyacinth bean vine. I had the seeds this year, but I just didn’t get them planted…shame on me! Now I see what I missed…thanks for sharing these lovely photos!

  5. Patty said,

    October 26, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    Your pictures are georgeous. I wish I could have seen the show. Thanks for the pictures.

    • Jan said,

      October 27, 2010 at 4:51 am

      Wish you could have been there, too.

  6. October 28, 2010 at 7:36 pm

    Gorgeous! I’ve been to New Orleans before but never the Botanical Gardens. I’m definitely going to have to check it out next time I go. That Staghorn Fern is gorgeous!

  7. Scott said,

    November 10, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    I totally agree, Botanical Gardens are so inspiring, and I’m always reminded about plants that I intended to plant, and haven’t. This year, it was globe amaranth…I’m totally planting some next year!


Leave a Reply

