Autumn Hibiscus

“Autumn Hibiscus”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

The cooler weather of autumn brings about a second big blooming period in the Deep South. Last posting showed the golden flowers of the cassia that started blooming this month, now, I want to share my favorite fall flower, a perennial hibiscus that is commonly called Confederate Rose or Cotton Rose around here. This is the hibiscus mutablis, a color changing flower. My original plant has flowers that start out light pink and then gradually change to a dark pink as the day wears on.

 

 

About two years ago, I found the white variety. This flower starts out white and gradually changes to pink as the day passes.

 

 

Unfortunately, I do not have a photo of the white changing to pink. Because of the cold temperatures of this past weekend, the flower kept its white color until I went to work. When I returned home, the flower was a dark pink, but it was also all curled up and ready to drop off the plant. But, take my word for it, this flower does go from white to light pink and then to dark pink.

Since my original pink Confederate Rose is over seven years old, it is about twelve feet tall, a nice, small tree. However, at that height, the flowers are a little difficult to see unless you are looking out the second story window. The new white one is only about four feet high. I think I will try and keep it to under seven feet so the flowers will be more accessible. I have rooted a new pink one which I also plan on keeping short.

It is nice to have some different flowers blooming now, and it certainly gave me something to look forward to when the heat of summer made flowers in the garden a little scarce.

5 Comments

  1. Sara said,

    November 9, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    I tried these when a friend who lives about a1000 feet lower in elevation gave me a couple plants(the pink ones). Didn’t work, too cold :(. I feel warmer just looking at your photos. Snow just up the hill from us tonight!

    • Jan said,

      November 10, 2010 at 5:41 am

      Sara, you probably would have to plant this in a container and bring inside to overwinter your area. When they are young, they will sometimes freeze to the ground here, but will come back in the spring. I can’t believe you can see snow already. We will be in the upper 70’s today.

  2. Janet said,

    November 10, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    I have seen this one for sale, do I buy one? Will ponder a bit. I was surprised to read that the color change occurs in one day…for some reason I thought it was longer—but I should know that these blooms only last one day.

  3. Joy said,

    November 11, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    These are gorgeous flowers .. I did have one when I first started this garden but some how it didn’t really feel happy here .. maybe I will try again !
    Joy : )

  4. donna said,

    November 12, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    You’re so lucky to have these pretty blooms in the month of November. Even the leaves are attractive.

    donna


Leave a Reply

