A Shady Bloomer

“A Shady Bloomer”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

It seems that gardeners are always looking for plants that will bloom in the shade. A vine that I have found blooms well with only a few hours of sun is the red bleeding heart vine (clerodendrum speciosum). I think this must be a short day flowering plant because it has just started blooming again as it did in the springtime.

 

 

This variety of bleeding heart vine has red flowers and lavender bracts and seems to be a little more cold tolerant than the white variety. I have mine growing in my zone 8 garden, and while it has been frozen back to the ground, it has reliably returned after very cold winters with only a light mulch to protect it.

So, add one more plant to flower in the fall. I’ll have to post about the gerbera daisies that are starting to bloom again now that cooler temperatures are steadily staying around.

6 Comments

  1. Bernieh said,

    November 12, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    This is such a pretty variety of Clerodendrum … the combination of red and lavender works beautifully. Clerodendrums are a common plant in the tropics, but this one I haven’t seen at all in my part of Oz. It’s now on the wish list.

    • Jan said,

      November 12, 2010 at 7:52 pm

      I have several different clerodendrums in my garden. I just love them, even the ones that spread a little too easily.

  2. November 13, 2010 at 10:10 am

    Dear Jan, How I would love to have such a colorful climber in my shade garden! But alas in PA …..
    Pam x

    • Jan said,

      November 13, 2010 at 4:02 pm

      Yes, Pam, it would have to be in a container you could take inside during the winter. If it is any consolation, there are many plants you can grow that we can’t because of our heat.

  3. Cat said,

    November 13, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    So nice to know. I’m a zone 8 as well (Austin, Tx) and have plenty of shade from the Southern Live Oaks. It’s difficult, as you say, to find anything that blooms with such a small amount of sun. I’ll file this away for future reminder!

  4. Patsi said,

    November 14, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    Never heard of a bleeding heart vine .
    Interesting…I have a shade bed with a small trellis where this may survive.


Leave a Reply

