November Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day

“November Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Thanks to Carol of May Dreams Gardens for coming up with GBBD. This is the day (15th of the month) in which we post everything which is blooming in our gardens. I can’t believe it is already November and that it is half over. Where has the year gone?

Even though it is mid-November, there still are blooms in the garden. Some of the new flowers showing up this month are the sasanquas, Confederate rose, and cassia.

The sasanquas camellia that is blooming now is Setsugekka. It has been in the garden about three years.

 

 

Yuletide, a lovely red sasanqua, has buds and one half-opened flower that I noticed this afternoon as I passed it by as I dodged the rain. Another sasanqua that is blooming is Cotton Candy. Does it count if I just bought it Saturday and isn’t planted yet?

 

 

Both the pink and the white Confederate roses are blooming. These are perennial hibiscuses and are commonly called Confederate rose or cotton rose. Whatever the name, these are lovely flowers to have blooming in autumn. Both of these flowers will gradually change to a dark pink as the day progresses.

 

 

 

The cassia tree is another late season flowering shrub that is brightening up the last few cloudy days.

 

 

There are several flowering plants that have started blooming again now that the cooler weather has set in. The gerbera daisies are one of these.

 

 

The toadlilies are still blooming and making the shady area on the side of the house lovely.

 

 

The cooler weather has also brought out the roses especially the white Iceberg and the Knockouts.

 

 

 

Many plants are continuing to bloom as they did in the summer. Those still blooming are the hibiscus, cat’s whiskers, salvias, impatiens, and even some gingers. I know I have probably forgotten some flowers that are still hanging on, but this is all I can think of right now. Too bad it rained today, usually I can go outside and look around to refresh my memory.

Be sure and check out May Dreams Garden to see what is blooming for other gardeners.

6 Comments

  1. goodtogrow said,

    November 15, 2010 at 9:01 pm

    Such pretty blooms!

  2. November 16, 2010 at 6:30 am

    Your Cassia bloom is so lovely and I always sigh when seeing a beautiful Camellia. You are lucky Jan to have so many blooms still. ;>)

  3. Janet said,

    November 16, 2010 at 8:37 am

    I think it counts if you have the plant in your possession –in ground or not. I finally have a garden where I can plant some Camellias…so far just two. Apparently the Sasanquas do better in the heat? What’s your take on that?

    • Jan said,

      November 17, 2010 at 6:31 pm

      I am not sure if sasanquas do better in the heat or not. They seem to do just as well here as the japonicas. They just bloom earlier. Or do you mean that they can’t take the cold? I know there are growers who are working on more cold hardy camellias.

  4. November 16, 2010 at 11:28 am

    I just recently came to know Toad Lillies and think they are so pretty! You still have a lot blooming – looks gorgeous!

  5. Kathleen said,

    November 17, 2010 at 9:54 am

    I’m so envious of everything you have in bloom still Jan. The benefits of living in a mild climate…
    Your camellias are beautiful. I wish I could grow them here.
    Thanks for the tip about the stocks. I wish there were some available at our greenhouses in fall. Unfortunately, they are only for sale in the spring so if they don’t survive the heat of summer, we’re out of luck. Unless I started them on my own from seed. Hmmm.
    I’ll have to look at some of your back posts and see if you’ve featured the Cat’s Whiskers. I planted some for the first time this year and really liked them.


Leave a Reply

