Rose and Bug

“Rose and Bug”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

The rose and bug – sounds like some English pub, doesn’t it? But, no, it is simply a literal statement about this photograph of the Mutabilis rose and its little visiting friend.

 

 

We have been having very cool weather lately especially at night, but I have been seeing these bugs a great deal. They have been all over one of the blooming sasanqua camellia’s flowers. You would think with the cooler weather that these bugs would be gone. I guess it just has to be a bit colder to get rid of the bugs.

Anyway, this rose certainly is a welcome sight.

5 Comments

  1. Bernieh said,

    November 21, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    It does indeed sound the name of an English pub out in the countryside somewhere! Lovely rose … the bug is not so lovely but I suppose it does a job.

  2. November 21, 2010 at 11:36 pm

    Those beetles are always such a nuisance in our garden in late summer, early fall! They make mincemeat out of so many blooms. I hate them. Your rose is sweet, however!

  3. Ingrid Lee said,

    November 26, 2010 at 4:31 am

    Open roses always have a soft spot for me, they are simple and beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

  4. November 27, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    I would not call that bug a friend of my bloom. I think it’s a cucumber beetle, but I’m not sure. I have plenty of them here, and they are one bug I will squish when I catch them.

    I forgot to tell you I love your Thanksgiving platter.

    • Jan said,

      November 28, 2010 at 10:01 am

      I think your identification of this bug is correct. I just couldn’t remember the name. I try and squish them, too.


Leave a Reply

