Serendipity

“Serendipity”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Serndipity – good luck in making unexpected and fortunate discoveries. When I purchased my yellow violas, I certainly had good luck in an unexpected discovery. One of the violas turned out to be different from all the other solid yellow ones. I discovered this weekend that one plant turned out to be yellow with brown top petals.

 

 

I think the brown top petals look like little ears – a la Mickey Mouse. Usually, when a “wrong” color on a plant shows up, I am a little upset if I am planning a sweep of one color, but this little viola doesn’t upset me since it so cute.

 

 

It is recommended that you buy plants that are not in bloom as these are usually stronger plants, but if you want particular colors, you must buy plants with some flower color showing. I have been disappointed too many times with clashing colors, so now I only buy plants with flowers. In buying flats of plants though, not every plant will be in bloom. But, in this flat of yellow violas, I am glad this little viola showed up.

3 Comments

  1. Scott said,

    January 10, 2011 at 12:17 pm

    So cute…I’m totally with you about buying plants not in bloom, but yeah, for things like that, it’s good to know what you’re getting!

  2. Darla said,

    January 11, 2011 at 2:03 pm

    Love the little faces of the violas. Your last post, gee, I was hoping for an early Spring, but it doesn’t look like it right now. Found you through blotanical.

  3. Janet said,

    January 12, 2011 at 7:42 pm

    It does look like little mouse ears, very cute.


Leave a Reply

