Lucky

“Lucky”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Friday night, I was talking to my sister who lives in northern Virginia, and she was remarking about the flowers blooming in my garden right now. She was saying, that except for a few hollies, it is mostly brown in her area. Evidently, there are few pines or conifers around where she lives.

This made me realize how lucky I am to be living in the Coastal South where there is always something blooming, and with so many evergreens and conifers around, it is always green. Even though we have had some cold weather lately with temperatures dipping into the upper twenties, I have noticed that there is already new growth showing on many plants, the roses for example. Many plants are already pushing up through the ground and do not seem to be bothered at all by the recent cold temps. Lilies, daylilies, and irises are already showing top growth.

This time of year, the camellias are the real show stoppers. My big camellia has started blooming. It is a little later than usual, but I am sure it is because of the colder than normal weather we had in December.

 

 

This camellia was already a large one when we moved in to our house years ago. I figure it has to be 45 to 50 years old. It is at least eighteen feet tall and is covered in buds. In a short time, it should be covered in flowers.

So, this is for all of you gardeners who will have to wait a while longer to see flowers finally showing up in your area.

5 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    January 23, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    oh to have 40-50 year old Camellias….heavenly!

  2. January 24, 2011 at 5:07 am

    This is a wonderful way to start the morning. My landscape is very dull and brown right now as well (all hardwoods and no conifers). The only color I get right now is all via photographs. Thanks for sharing your beautiful camellia.

  3. Jenn said,

    January 25, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    I’m jealous! Even though it did get up to a balmy 40 degrees today, we still don’t have anything growing in Kentucky. That took my breath away.

  4. January 31, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    I love Camellias – they are so pretty this time of year. One of the local arboretums here has a greenhouse full of them. I’m hoping to get there in a few weeks to enjoy their beauty.

  5. tina said,

    February 13, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    It’s stunning!


Leave a Reply

