I Want Spring

“I Want Spring”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

In many ways, this is the hardest time of the year for me. Signs of spring are starting to show up all over. A walk around the garden late this afternoon showed many plants starting to pop up after a short winter’s rest. Several daylilies are already six inches high. The true lilies that I have planted in the last few years are also up. With all these signs of spring, I need to be outside working in the garden. I need to get my hands dirty. I need to plant something, anything.

So, why haven’t I been able to get outside? First, work is taking up more of my time, then, there is the weather. While we have had warm, pleasant temperatures, there has also been several days of very light rain. Even though the rain has not been heavy, it does make everything so damp, and the soil unworkable. All this adds up to frustration for me.

However, all that being said, I am grateful for the weather we have. At least I can get out and walk around and check out what’s growing and/or showing up lately. I know so much of the country is still immersed in deep winter and can’t do anything but dream of warmer temperatures and newly emerging plants.

Here’s hoping this weekend will be good gardening weather.

7 Comments

  1. Ann said,

    January 31, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    I completely understand even though it is cold around here! I should be getting my indoor seeds started before I run out of time.

  2. Janet said,

    January 31, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    We had a wonderful weekend and were spoiled with the sun and warm temps. Today it is damp and cloudy and kind of icky. Spring fever is all over!!

  3. garden mary said,

    February 1, 2011 at 5:23 am

    I feel the same way.

  4. February 1, 2011 at 5:35 am

    I am ready for spring too! This past weekend was gorgeous but I’m afraid it was only a teaser. We are back to dreary winter. Certainly you will be getting spring before us but the signs are there. It is just around the corner.

  5. Scott said,

    February 1, 2011 at 11:35 am

    I feel your pain…even though the temps are pretty warm for us, we get so much rain still that the ground is perpetually muddy until June or July 😦

  6. donna said,

    February 4, 2011 at 6:24 am

    Walking around the yard to check what’s popping out of the ground is something I look forward to every early spring. You get to enjoy it a couple of months before me.

    donna

  7. Jesse said,

    April 19, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    Spring is the greatest season of the year.


Leave a Reply

