Little Signs

“Little Signs”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

While autumn is my favorite season, it is spring that I anticipate and look forward to so much. Little signs, as I have been writing about for the last few posts, are showing that spring is slowly loosening the grip Old Man Winter has had on the Gulf South. While temperatures are still dipping into the very chilly area, more and more plants are finding conditions are warming up.

Most of the daylilies I grow are evergreen (recommended for the Gulf South), but I have started trying out more deciduous ones, and so far, they are doing well. “Chicago Apache” along with a few others are showing green growth already.

 

 

Mystic Spires is another plant that is starting to come back.

 

 

Autumn Joy, which I planted for the first time last spring, is also showing little green rosettes. I am so glad this plant has returned. I was a little unsure how well this plant would do in my garden because of our high heat, but it seems to like it here since it is coming back.

 

 

The lilies starting showing up about three weeks ago. Both the Easter lilies and the “Triumphator” lilies are up and the cold weather we have had has not bothered them at all. I am beginning to think that lilies are a lot tougher than I thought they were.

 

 

While our last frost date is around March 1, after about February 15th, we do not get the real hard freezes that can cause so much damage to newly emerging plants that have already started to wake up with the warmer temperatures we see about this time of year. So, this means I should be seeing more and more little signs of spring returning.

4 Comments

  1. garden mary said,

    February 9, 2011 at 8:05 am

    Wish I could see some signs of spring approaching in my garden.

  2. Janet said,

    February 9, 2011 at 8:30 am

    I love the little rosettes of the sedum. They are kind of cute.

  3. February 9, 2011 at 10:42 pm

    Dear Jan, Your little signs of spring really cheered me! P x

  4. February 14, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    Yeah! It’s coming! I just saw a little daffodil sprout coming through the ground today. Our last frost date is May 15 – I still have a long way to go, but your post gives me hope!


Leave a Reply

