Ten Days Late

“Ten Days Late”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Every February 2nd I have not written about ground hogs predicting an early spring. I have written about my neighbor’s red bud tree which around here is a better predictor of spring’s arrival. Usually, by the 2nd of February, it is in full bloom, but not this year. I could hardly believe there were no bright, pink-purple flowers greeting me. I had to wait until this morning to see what for us is the harbinger of spring.

 

 

The sun streaming through this lovely tree made taking photographs difficult, but, for me, it lifted my spirits. Surely, spring will be here soon. (We are predicted to hit the 70’s next week. Hurray!)

 

 

Even though the flowers of this lovely ornamental tree were a few days late, I am still sure that spring will come to the Gulf Coast on time. Around here, I think the plants, as well as the people, are just tired of winter. Come on spring weather!

4 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    February 12, 2011 at 9:49 am

    We are having spring-type weather today too! Lovely blooms!

  2. Carolyn♥ said,

    February 12, 2011 at 10:22 am

    Lucky you! Not much from my garden window looks like Spring, but maybe by tomorrow some green will appear. The weather is suppose to be above freezing for a couple of days, and then another snow storm, but I sense a warming trend from our deep freeze temps of late. Your pics are gorgeous and I’m with you in coaxing Spring to show herself. I love Winter, but it’s time for a change.

  3. garden mary said,

    February 12, 2011 at 10:57 am

    Oh, how lovely.

  4. tina said,

    February 13, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    You know what your neighbor’s redbud tree is right on. I’ve been keeping track of bloom times around here and everything is a week to a month later than last year and even the year before. I am wondering why? Maybe the drought last year set things back? I’m not sure but it’s okay. I just hope the warm up doesn’t fool everything into thinking it is spring-though I sure do love those pretty redbud blooms!


Leave a Reply

