Happy Valentine’s Day

“Happy Valentine’s Day”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Happy Valentine’s Day, everybody. Aren’t these the cutest little roses?

 

 

I have already received my Valentine’s present from my sweetie – three clematis vines. So far, I have only grown clematis vines that are known to do well here – sweet autumn clematis and Clematis crispa. Since many of the large flowered ones are reported not to thrive here along the Gulf Coast, I have been hesitant to buy them. Now, I am going to branch out and try some of these clematis vines. The three I am now going to plant are Venosa Violacea, H.F. Young, and Nellie Moser. I am almost positive the first two are grown by my neighbor (she doesn’t remember the names) and do very well for her. I am hoping to post some photos of the blooms in early summer.

I hope everyone has a very happy Valentine’s Day and is able to spend some time with those they love.

2 Comments

  1. February 14, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    Happy Valentine’s Day to you too, Jan! I hope your clematis bring you lots of joy when they bloom.

  2. garden mary said,

    February 15, 2011 at 5:33 am

    These are cute roses. How nice for a gardener to get clematis vines for St. Valentine’s Day.


Leave a Reply

