February Garden Bloggers’s Bloom Day

“February Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Thanks to Carol of May Dreams Gardens for coming up with GBBD. This is the day (15th of the month) in which we post everything which is blooming in our gardens.

Well, probably like most of the gardeners in the Northern Hemisphere, I do not have too may flowers to show for this January. Thank goodness for the violas and camellias.

 

 

 

 

The sweet olive is blooming and sending its lovely aroma all around the patio. It always amazes me how such a small flower can send its scent over such a large area.

 

 

The grape mahonia is blooming, and, in fact, I even saw two bumble bees feasting on its flowers.

 

 

Finally, a few little soldier orchids have popped up in the circle garden. Usually, they show up in the lawn, but at last a few have shown up in the flower bed. While they are only about three inches high and are not that noticeable, I think they are cute additions to the late winter scene.

 

 

This February has a lot fewer flowers than in previous years. I have a feeling that everything will start blooming all at once instead of over a few weeks.

6 Comments

  1. RBell said,

    February 15, 2011 at 7:31 pm

    Have always enjoyed the Violas (though they have never been very enthusiastic in my shade). And I completely forgot to include my Mahonia blooms! I think the bees are very grateful for it at this time of the year.

  2. Carolyn♥ said,

    February 15, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    Lovely blooms. I had quite the time finding something for my GBBD post today. Hoping next month is a little easier.

  3. Darla said,

    February 16, 2011 at 3:48 am

    Nice blooms…waiting on my camellias to open.

  4. noel said,

    February 16, 2011 at 1:47 pm

    aloha,

    you have some wonderful blooms, wish i could grow camelias here

  5. February 17, 2011 at 5:03 am

    You have a number of beautiful things blooming in your garden right now! I am anxiously waiting on my daffodils to bloom.

  6. Randy Emmitt said,

    February 21, 2011 at 5:59 am

    Jan,

    There are a few camellias I know by flower. The pink camellia if you did not know is Debutante. Have a great week!


Leave a Reply

