Garden Took a Cat Nap

“Garden Took a Cat Nap”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

With the warm weather we have been having for the last two weeks, plants have been growing by leaps and bounds. It seems like overnight the dormant daylilies go from just barely peeking out of the ground to being three inches tall. Every time I go outside I am greeted by something new.

Today as I rounded the house and went into the side garden, I was so surprised. Just two weeks ago, I took this photo of the calla lily leaves that were already about eighteen inches tall after being frozen back to the ground by the earlier cold weather. (In my garden, calla lilies can stay in the ground year round.)

 

 

I was surprised how fast they had recovered. Now, imagine my surprise when today I saw the first calla lily flower.

 

 

While I would have to go check my garden journals to be sure, I am fairly confident this is the earliest a calla lily flower has shown up here. This is just one more example of how all the plants seem to be coming back from winter earlier than ever. I am beginning to think my garden did not go to sleep this past winter at all; it only took a cat nap.

6 Comments

  1. Ewa said,

    March 6, 2011 at 12:51 am

    You are lucky! our spring is still away. I can feel it being right on the corner, but still holding back. .
    We’ve had very warm January and half of Febryary, but at the end of the month ground got frozen again 😦
    can’t wait…..

  2. bangchik said,

    March 6, 2011 at 5:31 am

    I am sure the sun has warmed up gardening enthusiasm…, and good luck to new gardening season.

  3. Bernieh said,

    March 6, 2011 at 5:44 am

    What a wonderful surprise! It’s a stunning Calla.

  4. Mark said,

    March 7, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    Lucky you. I just wish I had anything growing right now. Snow greeted me this morning.

  5. Asha said,

    March 8, 2011 at 7:03 am

    Pretty flower! Hope you have more flowers blooming.

  6. March 9, 2011 at 1:59 am

    Nice calla lily. More power to your gardening experience!


Leave a Reply

