A Queen’s Bouquet

“A Queen’s Bouquet”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

I always associate early spring with daffodils and violets. I guess this is because I grew up in the New Orleans area, and Mardi Gras comes in early spring. As you probably know, Mardi Gras is an important holiday in this area. One of my favorite memories of Mardi Gras is seeing the presentation to the queen of carnival of a huge bouquet of violets surrounded by daffodils and fern. Today, being Mardi Gras, will see this tradition continued. As a small child, I always wanted that eighteen inch bouquet, and even as an adult, I would love to have this bouquet sitting on my dining room table.

While I do have small daffodils in my garden, the violets are only the wild ones that pop up in the lawn, so I won’t be having an enormous table arrangement. However, that is okay as I do enjoy seeing the flowers outside.

The pale purple and the white violets have just started showing up.

 

 

 

But, the daffodils are just about finished.

 

 

I wish I could find a photo of this gorgeous bouquet to share with you. It is truly spectacular. This large, colorful, queen’s bouquet is the first thing I think of when Mardi Gras and springtime come to mind.

7 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    March 8, 2011 at 10:10 am

    I love violets, they were my favorite flower as a child and they are still near to my heart. I imagine a huge bouquet of them would be heavenly.

  2. garden mary said,

    March 8, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    Love the little wild flowers that show up in spring.

  3. Phillip said,

    March 8, 2011 at 6:45 pm

    I really love the violets too.

  4. Barbee' said,

    March 8, 2011 at 7:53 pm

    You are much ahead of our Kentucky plants. I love everything in the violet family.

  5. March 8, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    These made me incredibly happy to see…we’re a long way from violets yet, but I do have hopes of snowdrops poking through where the least-deep snow has given way…

  6. Tom Paine said,

    April 7, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    Sweet Violets

    You are brief and frail and blue.
    Little earthly sisters, I am too!
    You are Heaven’s masterpieces-
    Little loves, the likeness inceases.

    Dorothy Parker

    • Jan said,

      April 7, 2011 at 6:11 pm

      Lovely little poem. Thanks for sharing as I this was unfamiliar to me.


Leave a Reply

