Moving Day

“Moving Day”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

I know I am going against conventional wisdom, but I don’t care. For several years now, I have been wanting to move my summer snowflake bulbs to an area where they will be in more sun. When the foliage dies down, that is the time to move bulbs, but by the time the foliage has died down, I never remember to move them since I am involved in other garden activities by then. Well, no more. Today is the day these babies get moved. They have just about finished blooming; the day is going to be perfect for gardening, and I have the perfect spot for them – what more could I ask?

 

 

There is also a clump of tete-a-tete daffodils that need to be divided, so I will probably do those at the same time.

I would like to move all my lycoris (Hurricane Lilies), too, but I don’t have a place for them prepared yet. Maybe I will get to them tomorrow and get one more chore that has been hanging over my head over with before the foliage is gone and the bulbs hard to find.

Yes, I think today will be a good moving day.

3 Comments

  1. Carolyn♥ said,

    March 12, 2011 at 8:45 am

    Have a lovely moving day Jan. I think today may just be right for my first venture itot the gardens for a little Spring clean-up. I’m excited. It’s been a long WInter here.

  2. Janet said,

    March 12, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    I think it makes sense to move them when it is easy to know where they are. Care for them in the summer will allow them to show off their blooms next spring.

  3. March 12, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    Dear Jan, How wonderful that you are out in the garden… I hope our spring will not be too far behind. I have moved bulbs successfully before the leaves died back. I am sure yours will be fine. P x


Leave a Reply

