Not a Bad Idea

“Not a Bad Idea”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Busy, busy, busy. The cool, sunny weather has continued here the last few days and with daylight savings time, I am able to get a few things done after work and before it gets dark. Monday and Tuesday, I trimmed back the azaleas. I do not trim them back with hedge clippers. Instead, I cut each branch which gives a neat appearance but still keeps a more natural look to the bushes. Today, it was the loropetalums’ turn at a trim. Well, to be honest, it was more than just a trim. I do not believe that I got around to trimming these bushes last year which probably accounts for the lanky growth that needed to be cut back more than normal. I cut these back the same way I do the azaleas – no hedge clippers. I want the natural shape of the plant to show, so that means just cutting back the height somewhat.

On another note, the blueberry bushes have started blooming.

 

 

I think these are the prettiest, little flowers. These bushes are really dear hubby’s domain. He loves blueberries and was so disappointed that these did not bloom last year. Their blooming this year is, I am hoping, a sign that they are established and will bloom more each year. Hubby may like the berries, but I like the blooms better.

Usually, all I am able to do in the early evening is take a few photographs of what is new in the garden, but getting some gardening chores done this week has been very nice. I never thought I would say this, but after being able to work in the garden after work, daylight savings time may not be such a bad idea after all.

6 Comments

  1. Scott said,

    April 6, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    They really are dear little flowers, aren’t they! Do your color up in the fall? I’ve seen some fields of blueberries that are a blazing sea of red in autumn.

    • Jan said,

      April 7, 2011 at 4:53 am

      They do color up in the fall which is very nice here since we have so few plants that give us fall color – just too warm I guess.

  2. Janet said,

    April 7, 2011 at 7:44 am

    I like the blossoms on the blueberries too. So dainty.

  3. April 7, 2011 at 8:03 am

    Beautiful flowers! I think I’ll have to agree with both you and your husband – the flowers are lovely but the berries are delicious! How long have you had it and is this the first (potential) season to harvest berries?

    • Jan said,

      April 7, 2011 at 6:12 pm

      This will be the first time we have had an appreciable number of berries, Kate. The bushes are about three years old.

  4. April 8, 2011 at 4:14 am

    you photograph your plants very well. Those berries would surely taste delicious.


Leave a Reply

