April’s Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day

“April’s Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Thanks to Carol of May Dreams Gardens for coming up with GBBD. This is the day (15th of the month) in which we post everything which is blooming in our gardens.

April has been a very busy month for me which is why I haven’t been posting very much. The good weather has me in the garden doing all kinds of chores and planting. I have to get so much done before the hot weather shows up, and believe me, the hot weather has already made brief appearances between cool fronts and will be here to stay in about three weeks. The middle of May is usually when the heat starts, and then it is good bye to cool weather until October. This month has been seen a bounty of flowering plants. I don’t know if I can remember them all, but I will try.

The amaryllis bulbs are blooming, but there are not as many flowers as usual. I think all that munching by the grasshoppers last summer on the leaves stopped many of the bulbs from developing flowers. This is only one of the varieties blooming right now. I’ll have to post later about the others. While Christmas time is when most people think of amaryllis, here in the Deep South, where they are planted in our gardens, spring is amaryllis time.

 

 

Also making a very nice showing are the Louisiana irises. Here, is one of my favorites, Marie Dolars.

 

 

A few roses started blooming in late March, but all are blooming now. Mutabilis (Butterfly rose), Penny Marshall, a pink climber, Iceberg, Caldwell Pink, White Out and the Knockouts: red, pink, and blushing. White Out is my newest rose, and it is doing so well. While not a Knockout, it was developed by the same company as the Knockout roses and seems to have all the good qualities of the Knockouts. It has been doing very well here even with our high humidty – no blackspot so far and tons of flowers.

 

 

The gerbera daisies have done so well this spring, that I bought more of them last Saturday. This is the best they have bloomed since I planted them three years ago. I guess they are finally a good size. Three of the plants have put out twelve to fourteen flowers at a time. I can’t wait for the other gerbera daisies to get as big as these.

 

 

The wild privet is blooming and perfuming the back garden. This bush is really in my neighbor’s yard, but it is drapping over her fence into our property. It is lovely at this time of year, but this is a highly invasive plant, and I spend a good deal of my time pulling its thousand of seedlings that show up all over the place.

 

 

Most of the azaleas have finished blooming by this month, but the rosebud azaleas are still going strong.

 

 

 

Snapdragons and violas are still blooming and should continue through May.

 

 

Other flowers in the garden on this 15th of April are the salvias, jasmines – yellow and star, even a volunteer impatiens or two, and the first daylily bloomed today. Old reliable Stella d’Oro showed up just in time for Bloom Day.

12 Comments

  1. John said,

    April 16, 2011 at 9:15 am

    Wow. That’s a gorgeous Iris. It would probably be outside my range and wetness capabilities but I can lust for it nonetheless.

    • Jan said,

      April 16, 2011 at 9:41 am

      John, my irises grow in regular garden soil, and Louisiana irises grow from the Gulf Coast to Canada, so you should be able to grow these colorful irises. While these irises will grow in water, they also do well in the garden with just regular watering.

  2. Ryan said,

    April 16, 2011 at 9:36 am

    You certainly have a lot blooming in your garden this month. That white Louisiana iris is gorgeous.

    • Jan said,

      April 16, 2011 at 9:42 am

      Ryan, this is one of my favorites. It makes big flowers and is very vigorous.

  3. RBell said,

    April 16, 2011 at 10:35 am

    Your amaryllis are looking real nice – I like the color pattern on them.

    • Jan said,

      April 16, 2011 at 2:40 pm

      I will have to post the other photos. This one is a gift from my sister who is so generous with her extra plants.

  4. April 16, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    Beautiful blooms Jan. I have a couple Amaryllis planted, foliage is up, no flower stalk yet.

    • Jan said,

      April 17, 2011 at 8:57 am

      Some of mine, especially the white ones are only now sending up flower stalks while some others are almost finished blooming.

  5. garden mary said,

    April 17, 2011 at 5:52 am

    Everything looks so nice. The rosebud azaleas are so different. I had never heard of them before. Do they have the same growing requirements of the regular azaleas?

    • Jan said,

      April 17, 2011 at 8:58 am

      The rosebud azaleas are treated like any other azalea. I love to pick a few and put in vases for the house.

  6. April 17, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    Dear Jan, What a lovely walk around your garden today. You have some very colorful blooms, but that white Louisiana iris is my favorite. P x

  7. Jane said,

    April 18, 2011 at 4:42 am

    I know about that wild privet, too. Lovely when it blooms, but so invasive.


Leave a Reply

