Easter Flowers

“Easter Flowers”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Lilies are expected at Easter, but my traditional white Easter lilies (lillum longiforum) are not quite ready to bloom. But, we were not without lilies. The little red lilies were blooming in time for Sunday.

 

 

The more seasonal white was represented by the oakleaf hydrangea. The longer I have this bush in the garden, the more I like it. I am thinking I just might add a few more.

 

 

 

Another Easter arrival was the blooming of the walking iris. Last year they did not bloom that well because of late freezes, but this year promises to be a good flowering year for them.

 

 

Since I have this week off, it has been good to be out in the garden. I worked all day yesterday, but rain this morning prevented me from being outside. I guess Mother Nature knew I needed a rest. Tomorrow morning should be a good day to finish planting everything I bought last Friday. I’ll have to post about that later.

4 Comments

  1. garden mary said,

    April 27, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    Looks like your garden had a nice Easter. I grow the same red lilies, but mine are not ready to bloom just yet.

  2. Ryan said,

    April 28, 2011 at 1:01 am

    Nice flowers for Easter. Love the walking iris – such a lovely flower.

  3. Carol said,

    April 28, 2011 at 7:10 am

    Hope you had as lovely an Easter as your flowers are. Love the red lilies.

  4. donna said,

    April 30, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    My traditional white Easter lily is just barely peeking out of the ground. Your oakleaf hydrangea is so, so pretty. I need to add them to our yard. Many bloggers share pictures of theirs and it always make me drool with envy. Hope your spring has been a happy one, Jan.

    donna


Leave a Reply

