Gardening Aromatherapy

“Gardening Aromatherapy”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

This past week was just perfect for gardening. Since I had the week off of work, there was finally time to do some planting, transplanting, and weeding. The weather cooperated – warm and sunny. That warm and sunny weather also helped spread the sweet aroma of certain blooming flowers.

The first few days that I was out in the garden, the star jasmine (or confederate jasmine as we call it here) perfumed the air. When you start to get hot and tired, having such a pleasant fragrance around certainly does revitalize you especially when you can sit in the shade with a tall glass of iced tea.

 

 

While I love this vine during springtime flowering, it has become invasive and is going to be pulled down this summer. It is growing all over the north side of the house and up a large pine tree. I have pulled it down once before thinking that it would slowly grow back. No such luck; it came back faster, stronger and bigger than before. Since it is now moving into the front and back garden, it will have to go. I certainly will miss its fragrance during the first warm days of spring.

Just about the time that this jasmine’s flowers started to fade, the gardenias kicked in with their lovely fragrance. I now have gardenia bushes in all areas of our property, so no matter where you are, front or back garden, the sweet aroma of the gardenias is there. In the front gardens, there are the old-fashioned gardenias that have been there since before we moved in.

 

 

 

In the back garden, there is the single or daisy gardenia. This one is special because it was rooted for me by my mother from a tiny sprig. Now, it is a small but nice size bush, and I know it won’t be long before it is as big as the older ones.

 

 

 

While there were a few exhausting days spent gardening, the “aromatherapy” of the jasmine and gardenias certainly did help to keep me going. Gardens should appeal to all our senses (not just the visual), and having strongly scented plants perfuming the air is sometimes forgotten.

4 Comments

  1. Carol said,

    May 4, 2011 at 5:05 am

    I love working in my garden when something is blooming and the fragrance is strong. This is one of the reasons I have a garden.

  2. garden mary said,

    May 4, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    Sounds like even though you were working, it was pleasant. If you think about it, most gardens do not have fragrance unless you walk right up to a flower. It must be nice to have the aroma just drifting around.

  3. Phillip said,

    May 4, 2011 at 6:47 pm

    I finally found a confederate jasmine that is hardy for me – it is called “Madison”. It has been rather mild mannered. It is blooming now but I haven’t noticed the fragrance, probably because the privet is so strong.

    • Jan said,

      May 4, 2011 at 7:17 pm

      Phillip, mine is over thirty years old; it was here when we moved in. At first, it wasn’t a problem, but in retrospect, I should have cut it back after it was about ten years old to keep it in bounds. When I finally cut it back about three years ago, I think it had grown too big and so was able to come back too vigorously. Also mild winters have allowed it to keep growing. In the ’80’s we had some really cold weather that kept it knocked back. Good luck with yours; I will miss the confederate jasmine’s lovely fragrance next spring.


Leave a Reply

