Daylily Part 2

“Daylily Part 2”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

More daylilies have started blooming here, and many of these are ones that I only bought last year which makes seeing them bloom this year in the garden rather exciting. It is nice to see them settled in and how the flowers look next to other flowers.

One thing I have noticed this year is how the colors of a few of the daylilies are a little different this year than they were in previous years. Some of my old-fashioned red ones that I had in the last post are not as red as last year; they seem to be a little more brown-colored. One daylily bloom that is strikingly different this year is Eye-yi-yi. The past two years it has bloomed orange, but this year it is more of a peach color. Strange, huh?

 

 

One that is blooming with a true color is Misty Mayhaw. This daylily puts out many huge, thick petaled blooms on sturdy stems. This is a vigorous repeat bloomer, too.

 

 

Today’s final daylily is an unknown one which is a gorgeous, frilly peach. This is one of the ones I purchased just last year, and, unfortunately, it did not have a tag.

 

 

There are still more daylilies in the garden that will be blooming shortly. When I look around my garden at all the lovely daylilies, I am so glad I decided a few years ago to start putting in more blooming perennials. That was a decision I wish I would have made when I first started gardening.

9 Comments

  1. May 9, 2011 at 7:28 pm

    ohhhhh that Frilly Peach is gorgeous!

  2. May 9, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    Beautiful :-). I just love daylilies

  3. teresa said,

    May 10, 2011 at 4:49 am

    I’ve noticed a color change in my daylilies before also. I wonder if it could be the soil or fertilizer?

  4. susan said,

    May 12, 2011 at 4:35 am

    I’m another gardener who has had daylilies’ color change. It is not a dramatic change, but definitely not the original color. I, too, have wondered what causes this.

  5. lindA said,

    May 19, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    Is everything okay?

  6. donna said,

    May 29, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    Sometimes the “unknowns” are the prettiest in the garden. Luv your daylilies.

    donna

  7. kanak7 said,

    May 31, 2011 at 8:49 am

    These day lilies are absolutely beautiful!

  8. Sherry Baugh said,

    June 21, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    I transplanted daylilies from my childhood home last year to my new home. They ahve been bright yellow for years. This year being their first season in their new home one has bloomed and is deep red. How has this happened? I’m now excited to see the others open up!

    • Jan said,

      June 22, 2011 at 6:42 am

      Sherry, there must have been a red daylily among the yellow ones, maybe one that had not bloomed? If these are an older group of daylilies, they might have been planted together. I know the ones I got from my mother had the red and yellow planted together, and I have seen the same combination planted in older neighborhoods. It is exciting to get a “surprise” like this.


Leave a Reply

